Username:    Password:    Remember Me?         

Patch # 20 - Pathfinding & Arcana Expansion Preview - Page 2 - Reverie World Studios Forums

Go Back   Reverie World Studios Forums > Reverie World Studios > News & Announcements
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-06-2014, 11:28 AM
Gongora Gongora is offline
Elven Sect:
Grand Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 266
Gongora has good reputation
Default

I am using a I7 quad I guess, 16 gigs of ram, 670 GTX ninvida Card. Using the steam version.

Lags in online kingdom mode, in battles, homeland, world map, everywhere. The title screen is also laggishy from how smooth it used to be. Hope that helps you Kon!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-06-2014, 11:41 AM
Reaver Reaver is offline
Orc Sect:
Marauder
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 73
Reaver has a default reputation
Default

im using steam version, it is only inside the game, not at the menu (menu actually seems faster) and i have the AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 Processor, 3400 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
(copied that from system info) and i dont understand why i lag, i had my computer built a year ago specifically to game and it runs everything perfectly, every game up till now was perfect, why is your game so laggy?

its very annoying, please do something! i cant do much of anything other than build, and even then it lags hardcore when i place buildings.

Last edited by Reaver : 01-06-2014 at 01:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-07-2014, 10:34 AM
Konstantin Fomenko's Avatar
Konstantin Fomenko Konstantin Fomenko is offline
Reverie World Studios - Producer & Design Director
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,769
Konstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputation
Default

Thanks for the report guys!

If you don`t mind it would really help us if you could try this:

1) Lower all visual settings to the lowest, restart the game (for setting to take effect) - and confirm if lag is the same?

2) Create a new town - does it lag as much?

3) And this is way more time consuming but could you please try installing the game using our own client and see if it helps with the lag?
http://dofgame.com/download/DoFInstaller.exe
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-07-2014, 12:48 PM
Reaver Reaver is offline
Orc Sect:
Marauder
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 73
Reaver has a default reputation
Default

I have it on lowest settings, still lags the same on my old pre-arcana city, I made a new post arcana city and have been playing it for about 60 min, and there does seem to be less lag (so far) And I'll install your client and try it then get back to you, 2 hour download and i have to go to work, so i wont be able to report on that until tomorrow/later tonight.

I've also noticed that on my pre Arcana cities the Hydra and minotaur pictures in the market are just blank white Squares, whereas on this new city they are actually pictures of the units.

Home City lag is almost non-existent, and when im on the world map it runs smoothly on the new city. If it is ok with you guys im going to ask some fellow players with pre arcana cities and lag issues to make new cities to see if they have the same results as me.

After about 2-3 hours i've noticed lag starting to creep up on me, installer is done though so im going to swap to that.

Ok, played about 60 minutes on the installer on my pre arcana city, alot of the lag issues appear to be gone. It's probably an issue with the steam client, though i still get random bouts of extreme lag.
__________________
"Like the unforgiving ocean, our forces will be as a tidal wave, reaving a path of destruction with nothing but ruin in their wake" - Reaver, Warchief of the Horde.

Last edited by Reaver : 01-08-2014 at 10:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-07-2014, 06:54 PM
Gongora Gongora is offline
Elven Sect:
Grand Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 266
Gongora has good reputation
Default

using your guys launcher I do not lag at all anymore, must be the steam launcher that has the issues. Thanks Kon!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-08-2014, 12:17 PM
Konstantin Fomenko's Avatar
Konstantin Fomenko Konstantin Fomenko is offline
Reverie World Studios - Producer & Design Director
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,769
Konstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputation
Default

Thanks guys - looks like we can confirm there is a lag issue, which is still there in our launcher, but greatly effects Steam launcher - we should have this sorted for patch 22 later this week.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-08-2014, 11:20 PM
roofus2652 roofus2652 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
roofus2652 has a default reputation
Default

Thank goodness its not just me. The pc specs you mentioned are like twice the recomended.

2.4 GHz Intel® Core 2® Duo or AMD® processor
2 GB RAM (XP), 3 GB RAM (Vista)

My question is if I have lagged since beta and still cant manage to comfortably move about my Elf town with only 20 archers in it is will I ever be able to run the game smoothly on my PC ? (Same problem with all civs.)

I use a dual core 2.6 ghz and have 4 GB RAM

I was told that the game had problems running on xp so I upgraded to win 7 with no luck, quit for a while and came back with the pathfinding fix. still no dice :(

any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-09-2014, 01:49 AM
IGhostbustedGod IGhostbustedGod is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 13
IGhostbustedGod has a default reputation
Default

It now takes me AGES to log in. Used to only take about a minute to fully load in. Now it's closer to 10 to get logged in to the game, then about 30% of the time it crashes to desktop once it gets IN game.

Never had any of these issues prior to the patch. In fact I don't think I ever had a single instance of the game crashing before, just once where it locked up and I had to ctrl+alt+del. I am also going through steam so hopefully this is related to the issue mentioned. Though once I get in and it doesn't crash, I'm actually running better than ever, no lag in game for me at all.

Also, my dwarven miners now just stand around when they fill up. I have to tell them myself to take loot to the main tree when they used to seem to have done it the same way as wardens did. Extremely annoying as it is now pointless to have dwarven miners, who is going to stand there and micromanage each one to see when it fills up to run it back and forth?? Do I now need to get a horsecart or something for them to work like peasants or is this a bug?

Very bittersweet patch atm, lots to love but a few things that just suck too lol. I really like the additional units. Does the Guild Hall actually DO anything?? Hopefully the next one we get is the 'whole-bunch-more-varied-quests-and-maybe-separating-the-people-talking-so-they-aren't-stabbing-each-other-during-the-conversation' patch. Yeah, it's a long name, but would be good stuff ;)

**Roofus, I'm guessing you have tried lowering the settings a lot? Grass in particular caused me loads of issues despite having a vastly superior computer to what was asked, any time more than 1 group of units wanted to move together it was disastrous. Turned off grass and shadows and now it's only when I try to make an entire army move at once, which I sort of expect with so many moving parts in an indy-developed persistent online world**

Last edited by IGhostbustedGod : 01-09-2014 at 02:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-09-2014, 02:45 PM
Hi11Zone's Avatar
Hi11Zone Hi11Zone is offline
Reverie World Studios - Community Manager
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 825
Hi11Zone is a glorious beacon of lightHi11Zone is a glorious beacon of lightHi11Zone is a glorious beacon of lightHi11Zone is a glorious beacon of lightHi11Zone is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Some players are having no problems , and some are. Heck even a lot got a performance boost where as the rest can't even run it. It's all over the place. Iv never had lagged issues ever, till after patch so we are looking at what needs to be changed or fixed. We will keep you updated as we look into fixing these bugs.
__________________
Official DOF Live Stream:
http://www.twitch.tv/ReverieWorld
My Amazing Steam Group http://steamcommunity.com/groups/Hi11zonesGamingLounge
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-09-2014, 04:47 PM
roofus2652 roofus2652 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
roofus2652 has a default reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IGhostbustedGod View Post

**Roofus, I'm guessing you have tried lowering the settings a lot? Grass in particular caused me loads of issues despite having a vastly superior computer to what was asked, any time more than 1 group of units wanted to move together it was disastrous. Turned off grass and shadows and now it's only when I try to make an entire army move at once, which I sort of expect with so many moving parts in an indy-developed persistent online world**
Yeah it looks like im playing minecraft
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:33 AM.

ESRB Rated T
US/CANADA
PEGI 16
EUROPE
USK 16
GERMANY

privacy policy   |   Copyright © Reverie World Studios INC.

Kingdom Wars and Reverie World Studios are trademarks of Reverie World Studios, Inc. Developed by Reverie World Studios, inc. All Rights Reserved. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.