Username:    Password:    Remember Me?         

UI complaints. - Reverie World Studios Forums

Go Back   Reverie World Studios Forums > Kingdom Wars > Main Square
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2013, 11:46 AM
Mark Ashton's Avatar
Mark Ashton Mark Ashton is offline
Reverie World Studios - 3D Artist
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 36
Mark Ashton has a default reputation
Default UI Suggestions.

Hey all,

I'm seeing a few comments saying bad or crappy UI and such things but not much into explaining as whats specificly is bad about it.

If any of you guys here share those same thoughts on the UI and can elaborate on what is bad about it, It would be really helpful.

Thanks

Mark.

Last edited by Mark Ashton : 04-02-2013 at 01:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-02-2013, 12:24 PM
Konstantin Fomenko's Avatar
Konstantin Fomenko Konstantin Fomenko is offline
Reverie World Studios - Producer & Design Director
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,769
Konstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputation
Default

Mark - you might wanna ask on Steam forums as well. My guess we need to start by adjusting the font, and maybe work on the art as well... but yeah lets get some feedback, I wanna work on a new UI soon.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2013, 04:03 PM
Bob9009 Bob9009 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Bob9009 has a default reputation
Default

One problem I'm having is that the unit info in the bottom left corner is quite hard to read, especially with elves, due to the background clashing with the font. I'm playing in 1920x1080 and I'm straining quite a bit to read it.
The text on the icons in the top right is also quite hard to make out, but that doesn't need to be read that often, so it's not really an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2013, 06:06 PM
Qthemuse Qthemuse is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Qthemuse has a default reputation
Default

There is alot actually but here are the biggest things I see. Cooldowns aren't easy to see, there should be a number countdown when you click something.
There are no hotkeys for the abilities and units.
There is no easy way to see how to make a unit run faster.
The textures for the UI are blocky and not crisp.
Elves pray for the dead but it is called looting, should be named properly.
Some of the tooltips, for instance looting are incomplete and don;t tell what they do.
There is no AoE indicator, something say 600 range, how far is that? I guess you could say 100000 range with no reference no point.
Why have that ugly 3d model texture above every unit you click on, no no reason at all. Maybe some nice 2D art perhaps, even when its covered up by the chat window, which you should be able to move easily.
Skill points notification is not easy to see. Almost white, should be GOLD and sparkles because nothing says use this **** like gold and sparkles.
Should be able to name our squads. If i want to call my orc swordman the GoatChokers then I should be able to.
Oh sweet i leveled up my hut, how do i find out how the hell what level my other huts are out of my million of other huts. Oh wait I can't.

No smart casting, spells don;t really give a good visual representation, click on OGre, oh its enraged!!!
How do i know it is enraged, any visual ques?
Nah man, MAGIC and stuff.

On a side note, your textures need a hires pack. I know old game, but there should be an option for some sweet high rez textures.

And those are just off the top of my head.

Good game though but some ideas.

Last edited by Qthemuse : 04-02-2013 at 06:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2013, 06:14 PM
cuendillar cuendillar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
cuendillar has a default reputation
Default

I agree with much of what the previous poster said. I would also add I would like to see the ability to customize key configurations, fixes to the chat system (general tab switching doesnt work all the time, for example), and how to tell the range of ranged uinits (how close/far do I need to be for my arhers/trebuchets/etc to engage?).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2013, 06:28 PM
cuendillar cuendillar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
cuendillar has a default reputation
Default

And add the ability to easily see how many houses are queued to be built (any any other structure, unit, or item).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-02-2013, 07:02 PM
Konstantin Fomenko's Avatar
Konstantin Fomenko Konstantin Fomenko is offline
Reverie World Studios - Producer & Design Director
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,769
Konstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputation
Default

Thanks for the feedback guys - please keep it coming. We plan to start work on UI rework next week.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-02-2013, 07:57 PM
beachedwalrus beachedwalrus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
beachedwalrus has a default reputation
Default

For me the UI is the biggest let down in this game but in all honesty it won't stop me playing this game, however some people who are not used to playing games with bad UI might think this game is horrid.

Here are a list of things i can think up off the top of my head (Just so you know my resolution is at 1920x1200)

1. When i click on a building to build something the icons are really small and you cannot distinguish between most of them meaning you have to scroll over them to read the tooltip. Maybe they were designed to run at a lower resolution?

2. Text isn't the most legible, it is passable but i still think the font or something could be better. Once again it could be a resolution issue.

3. Creating an army for the trade mission was probably the most confusing thing i had to do so far. When i go out to the main map maybe when you select your town a radial dial comes up with an option to create an army, just to keep it in line with how you have done building things. The box down in the left hand corner was a bit confusing at first, i had to read the help section. Once you understand how to do it, it no longer is really an issue but i saw a few people in chat asking the same thing yesterday.

4. Quest dialogue could be made crisper, add some spacing between the dialogue and the options.

If i think of anything else i will make another post.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-03-2013, 02:47 AM
Mark Ashton's Avatar
Mark Ashton Mark Ashton is offline
Reverie World Studios - 3D Artist
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 36
Mark Ashton has a default reputation
Default

Thanks for the feedback everyone.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-03-2013, 06:14 AM
beachedwalrus beachedwalrus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
beachedwalrus has a default reputation
Default

I noticed another one. When playing as the elves the tool tips display the wrong numbers for a few units. Deers are 70 food, tooltip says 50. Spirits are also wrong.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:40 AM.

ESRB Rated T
US/CANADA
PEGI 16
EUROPE
USK 16
GERMANY

privacy policy   |   Copyright © Reverie World Studios INC.

Kingdom Wars and Reverie World Studios are trademarks of Reverie World Studios, Inc. Developed by Reverie World Studios, inc. All Rights Reserved. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.