Username:    Password:    Remember Me?         

Memory leak and crash. - Reverie World Studios Forums

Go Back   Reverie World Studios Forums > Dawn of Fantasy > Technical Support
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2013, 05:45 PM
bandor bandor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 73
bandor has a default reputation
Default Memory leak and crash.

After a few hrs the game gets up to 1.67gb of memory used and it crashes. Seems to always crash when it gets to this size.

log attached

edit: not sure why file did not attach earlier, it is attached now
Attached Files
File Type: txt Log4.txt (392.6 KB, 1 views)

Last edited by bandor : 04-05-2013 at 11:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-05-2013, 07:11 PM
Konstantin Fomenko's Avatar
Konstantin Fomenko Konstantin Fomenko is offline
Reverie World Studios - Producer & Design Director
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,631
Konstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputation
Default

Thanks - we will investigate, had a couple more reports like, seem to only effect certain hardware configurations.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-05-2013, 08:19 PM
Jester0311's Avatar
Jester0311 Jester0311 is offline
DoF Moderator - Tech Support
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 50
Jester0311 is just above average reputation
Default

Im not seeing the log file attachment, would you mind uploading again please?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2013, 09:54 AM
bandor bandor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 73
bandor has a default reputation
Default

This is is happening pretty often.

memory usage gets somewhere between 1.7 and 2.2gb and it crashes

I looked over dof.exe and the large address aware flag is checked. I've got a 64 bit os with 8gb ram. So > 2gb ram should not be a problem for the app.

DEV's any ideas on anything I can do to my system to try? Every avenue I explore leads back to checking the games source code for problems with pointers.

I've very limited programming skills, I deal with hardware and occasionally write simple scripts. But if I could help by running a monitoring tool/making changes to pc settings let me know.







Anyone searching and finding this post with a 32 bit os and having issues may want to try the following command
bcdedit /set IncreaseUserVA 3072
that will edit windows (only needed on 32 bit versions) to use 3gb instead of just 2 for a program.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-12-2013, 11:09 PM
Jester0311's Avatar
Jester0311 Jester0311 is offline
DoF Moderator - Tech Support
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 50
Jester0311 is just above average reputation
Default

dxdiag please.
also any hard faults on memory during play?
have you done a memory remap?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-13-2013, 08:11 PM
bandor bandor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 73
bandor has a default reputation
Default

I tried setting my bios to factory default and I'm crashing less, but it still happens quite often. I'm not sure if the crashing less is a result of your last 3 patches or my changes. I did not crash for a few days this past week between your monday? and thursday/fri? patches. I forget the exact days you patched but between them I had 0 crashes. But after the big patch I've been crashing again. could just be bad luck on my part

I had some pretty aggressive timings voltages and overclock. But for me they have been stable for years.
orthos/prime95, various mem test have no problems, various benchmark programs have no problem. I can run a benchmark 24hr with no problem at full speed trying to crash my computer. I use my pc as a media server doing video transcoding so I keep it fast but stable.

In recent memory I've played completely through mass effect 3, dead space 3. I regularly play very heavy 3d shooters that have higher system requirements than dof on high res high texture with never a crash.

DOF does destroy my processor, it runs at 70% pretty consistently when running at standard from the factory speeds with spikes to 100%. It was running at 60-90% under my long standing overlock. I think your system requirements need upped a bit. I don't see anyone playing this with a 2.4 dual core when a 3.7 dual core is struggling.


It is time for an upgrade with the new intel haswell processors coming out very soon. The Intel Xeon E3-1230 V2 is quite tempting to just buy now though.


and yes, memory mapping is on in the bios
Attached Files
File Type: txt DxDiag.txt (32.8 KB, 3 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-13-2013, 08:29 PM
Jester0311's Avatar
Jester0311 Jester0311 is offline
DoF Moderator - Tech Support
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 50
Jester0311 is just above average reputation
Default

Try reverting your DPI back down to 100% instead of 125% this has been known to cause some issues.
Aside from the issue, I was rather disappointed haswell is still 22nm. In regards to the xeon unless your getting a helluva price they are crap in comparison.
Take full advantage of the ivy-bridge with a Intel Core i7-3930K, can be pricey though.
Ive attached the DXDIAG form my laptop for comparison if you like.
Attached Files
File Type: txt DxDiag.1.txt (25.7 KB, 4 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-13-2013, 11:57 PM
bandor bandor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 73
bandor has a default reputation
Default

Nice laptop, about 500-1k above the budget I've set and 17 inches is too small for me to be able to read anything. I don't see well.

e3-1230 is down to 200$, paired with a asrock z77e4 I believe they would work well
has hyperthreading, works on most enthusiast mobo, I don't need the integrated graphics
I welcome thoughts on the subject!

I've gone ahead and changed dpi setting for the machine. Will see how that goes.


Have you seen using dof.exe with dpi compatibility settings working well? Or does changing the windows display setting itself provide more benefit?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-14-2013, 07:40 AM
bandor bandor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 73
bandor has a default reputation
Default

Played 1 round of pvp, did some econ, game crashed loading 2nd round of pvp.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Dof.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 5145f95e
Fault Module Name: Mithrill.dll
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 51673daa
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 001cb8a5
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Attached Files
File Type: txt Log1.txt (642.2 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-14-2013, 09:07 PM
Jester0311's Avatar
Jester0311 Jester0311 is offline
DoF Moderator - Tech Support
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 50
Jester0311 is just above average reputation
Default

rename mithrill.dll to .old and add mithrill.dll to exception list if you have it. reverify.
ive seen a couple threads of mithrill issues since a patch so may be unrelated.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:26 AM.

ESRB Rated T
US/CANADA
PEGI 16
EUROPE
USK 16
GERMANY

privacy policy   |   Copyright © Reverie World Studios INC.

Dawn of Fantasy and Reverie World Studios are trademarks of Reverie World Studios, Inc. Developed by Reverie World Studios, inc. All Rights Reserved. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.