Username:    Password:    Remember Me?         

Anti-aliasing? - Reverie World Studios Forums

Go Back   Reverie World Studios Forums > Dawn of Fantasy > Public Suggestions and Proposals
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2009, 01:33 PM
Neotyguy40 Neotyguy40 is offline
Elven Sect:
Mounted Grand Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 411
Neotyguy40 has a default reputation
Default Anti-aliasing?

Hey, I saw some of the screenshots in the media section. I was surprised at what I saw. Yet I noticed the models had some jagged edges. Will there be anti-aliasing in the game? At least x2? It seems it would do the graphics much good on how it looks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2009, 02:11 PM
LiTos456's Avatar
LiTos456 LiTos456 is offline
Reverie Moderator - dofsource.com Ambassador
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Local Disk C:\
Posts: 1,675
LiTos456 has a spectacular aura aboutLiTos456 has a spectacular aura about
Default

I'm pretty sure there will be.
Wow, I've been looking for how to word this for a while now. How could I forget about anti aliasing... Yes, that's what always bothers me on some of the screens.
__________________
ATTENTION NEW MEMBERS: Please read "Posting and YOU!" and the forum's "Code of Conduct" before making any posts.
Please read the official FAQ thread before asking any questions! If you don't find your answer use the search function!
If you have questions about the beta, please check the official beta questions thread before posting anything!
Don't bump old threads, don't spam, be nice and enjoy your stay.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2009, 03:37 PM
Ryan Zelazny's Avatar
Ryan Zelazny Ryan Zelazny is offline
Reverie World Studios - Advertising Art Director
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 352
Ryan Zelazny has a default reputation
Default

Currently Anti-aliasing isn't implemented. Due to time constraints this may not make it into the release, though we surely hope to include it. The problem lies with the conflict between HDR which we already use and anti-aliasing as the two technologies can be difficult to get working in tandem. However, you can turn off HDR and force your Videocard to do anti-aliasing through your driver software on most modern cards.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2009, 03:44 PM
Gigz Gigz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 27
Gigz has a default reputation
Default

I run a geforce gtx 8800 will I be able to use both antiliasing and HDR with the control panel right ? ^^
__________________
Yes Im the Gigz from Atlantica Online among other games :P
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-06-2009, 04:52 PM
LiTos456's Avatar
LiTos456 LiTos456 is offline
Reverie Moderator - dofsource.com Ambassador
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Local Disk C:\
Posts: 1,675
LiTos456 has a spectacular aura aboutLiTos456 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Very disappointing. Of course I understand, but it's something that should be done first.
GTX 260 here... anything possible?
__________________
ATTENTION NEW MEMBERS: Please read "Posting and YOU!" and the forum's "Code of Conduct" before making any posts.
Please read the official FAQ thread before asking any questions! If you don't find your answer use the search function!
If you have questions about the beta, please check the official beta questions thread before posting anything!
Don't bump old threads, don't spam, be nice and enjoy your stay.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2009, 10:31 PM
Neotyguy40 Neotyguy40 is offline
Elven Sect:
Mounted Grand Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 411
Neotyguy40 has a default reputation
Default

Also, may I ask what is the current average fps you get on the game with your development computers? I would like to at least have 30 fps at minimum, and anti-aliasing takes up alot of GPU power...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-10-2009, 06:31 PM
The_Biz The_Biz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 105
The_Biz has a default reputation
Default

something's weird

normal games don't look so jagged without AA turned on, but it seems to particularly affect DOF
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-10-2009, 07:55 PM
Ryan Zelazny's Avatar
Ryan Zelazny Ryan Zelazny is offline
Reverie World Studios - Advertising Art Director
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 352
Ryan Zelazny has a default reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Biz View Post
something's weird

normal games don't look so jagged without AA turned on, but it seems to particularly affect DOF
A lot of the units in game have quite a low polygon count compared to a lot of other games, this is because the level of detail required for a unit at our normal viewing distance is quite low (90% of all the screenshots we show are from odd zoomed in angles) so this is why you'll notice sharper edges, because your viewing the models from a distance you would not normally be using in game. However Hero units do have a much higher polygon count than average units so you will notice this less on those units.

Low polygon count also allows us to have a such a large population amount. If you look at the screenshots Konstantin posted in the Media forum for May 1st week you'll notice a current popcap limit of 4200 (Note: that number is still a work in progress) that is a lot of units to have onscreen at once because you have to think that you could be playing with say 4 people, so you would have to support up to 16,000 units on screen at once that's a lot for a GPU to process.

We also incorporate both Bloom and HDR (High Dynamic Range) post processing effects, these already take substantial amounts of the GPU's processing power, so AA would add a significant requirement in hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-13-2009, 12:35 PM
Joseph Visscher's Avatar
Joseph Visscher Joseph Visscher is offline
Reverie World Studios - Lead Level Designer, Senior Gameplay Programmer, 3D Animator, 3D-2D Artist.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canada B.C.
Posts: 1,279
Joseph Visscher has extremely good reputationJoseph Visscher has extremely good reputationJoseph Visscher has extremely good reputationJoseph Visscher has extremely good reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neotyguy40 View Post
Also, may I ask what is the current average fps you get on the game with your development computers? I would like to at least have 30 fps at minimum, and anti-aliasing takes up alot of GPU power...
Fps depends on the map and how much your looking at, currently for me average from map to map i'd say maybe 80-100 fps

Geforce 9600 GT 512 mb, 675 mhz core
AMD 6000+ duel core 3.0 ghz
2 gb ddr2 ram.

(Wiki Alert)
To my knowledge, which isn't that great when it comes to anti-aliasing is that a game can either have anti-aliasing or HDR / Bloom / MIP Images / Normal Maps, and having all 5 is either impossible, very hard or useless.
When we adjust and tweak HDR and our MIP Images along with Normal Maps, the outcome might make it just as good as anti-aliasing.
__________________
Joseph B. Visscher - JBV3737

Bugs aren't the problem, figuring out how to fix them is.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-13-2009, 01:18 PM
The_Biz The_Biz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 105
The_Biz has a default reputation
Default

most strategy games have limited FPS because of the processor bottleneck.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:11 PM.

ESRB Rated T
US/CANADA
PEGI 16
EUROPE
USK 16
GERMANY

privacy policy   |   Copyright © Reverie World Studios INC.

Dawn of Fantasy and Reverie World Studios are trademarks of Reverie World Studios, Inc. Developed by Reverie World Studios, inc. All Rights Reserved. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.