Go Back   Reverie World Studios Forums > Dawn of Fantasy > Main Square
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-17-2012, 05:06 PM
Elven Sect:
Enchanter

huwie has a default reputation
Default New player observations

Hi everyone

I'm very new to DoF, having just bought it today. I've had a couple of quick sessions and I'd like to make some observations based on an hour or so of play.

Firstly, although I'm about to highlight some serious issues that I feel need to be investigated immediately, I think there's a great game underneath which has incredible promise. I desperately want to see DoF achieve its potential!

That being said, here are my issues:
  1. Connectivity. This is my biggest bugbear right now. My internet connection is currently quite unstable. During a time when I thought it was up, I tried playing DoF in online kingdom mode. I later realised that almost everything I did was after my connection died. I had expected the game to kick me out as soon as the connection dropped, but it didn't. As a consequence everything I thought I had achieved was lost. This is a serious issue! Obviously I don't mind being kicked out if my connection dies, but I don't like thinking all is fine when it isn't. I have had to restart because of this bug!
  2. Units. Pathfinding is quite odd, and it's easy not to issue a move/attack command with right-click because my mouse moved slightly, with the result that the game interprets my command as moving the camera instead of moving a unit. Additionally, my units seem to split themselves into two or more groups for some reason, leaving my soldiers scattered across the map.
  3. Graphics. There's something odd about the way the game looks. It's as if it's set to the wrong resolution, although apparently the game displays at my desktop resolution...?