Username:    Password:    Remember Me?         

Question on beta - Page 3 - Reverie World Studios Forums

Go Back   Reverie World Studios Forums > Dawn of Fantasy > Main Square
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-15-2009, 04:18 PM
The Witch King of Angmar's Avatar
The Witch King of Angmar The Witch King of Angmar is offline
Reverie Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minas Morgul, Middle-Earth
Posts: 1,809
The Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputationThe Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputationThe Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputationThe Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputation
Default

Yeah, I may have some trouble with that. But if we can run the game, will we be able to probably run the whole game?

Thanks
__________________
"Do not come between a Nazgul and his prey..."

Feel free to check out my soundcloud:
http://soundcloud.com/dylan-lang
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-15-2009, 04:21 PM
Irsig Irsig is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 17
Irsig has a default reputation
Default

it's time to get a new graphic card
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-15-2009, 05:33 PM
Esculas the Mighty Esculas the Mighty is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: States :D
Posts: 505
Esculas the Mighty is someone to look uptoEsculas the Mighty is someone to look upto
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Irsig View Post
or simply you can't play it

but for me the graphics are less imporatnt than the gameplay in all the games, for me no matter is this game have the graphics of age of empire 2 ever the game mantain their actual gameplay
i agree although age 2 graphics are as far as id go only exception is age1 graphics and thats secluded to that game only
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-15-2009, 05:37 PM
Feweh Feweh is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 168
Feweh has fair reputation
Default

Radeon 4850 Toxic
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-16-2009, 03:10 AM
Artilla Artilla is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21
Artilla has a default reputation
Default

im running age of conan in almost high settings ..

i don't for DOF will be a problem. ( i hope)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-16-2009, 05:59 AM
LiTos456's Avatar
LiTos456 LiTos456 is offline
Reverie Moderator - dofsource.com Ambassador
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Local Disk C:\
Posts: 1,675
LiTos456 has a spectacular aura aboutLiTos456 has a spectacular aura about
Default

it sucks that some of my friends won't be able to run it.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-16-2009, 07:54 AM
Konstantin Fomenko's Avatar
Konstantin Fomenko Konstantin Fomenko is offline
Reverie World Studios - Producer & Design Director
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,636
Konstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputation
Default

Quote:
But if we can run the game, will we be able to probably run the whole game?
Absolutely. The main problem is that we only support V3 shaders right now - and v2 Shader video card can`t start the game - something we can`t fix until the open beta.

Upgrading your video card is something to think about these days - older models are really cheap -50$ can get you a real nice Shader 3 card.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-16-2009, 09:55 AM
Lordadamar Lordadamar is offline
Human Sect:
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 97
Lordadamar has a default reputation
Default

On the topic of Speccs, which it now sounds like a few members will have to upgrade there PC's to play this..

Will DoF cache maps and certain parts of gameplay to Memory. Allot of the RTS's now cache maps to your physical memory to decrease load times when panning around the world or local map, even some MMORPG's do this...

System

AMD Phenom 2 940 Black Edition
Geforce 9800 GTX+ OC
8 gigs DDR2 1066

It seems more and more these days games are becoming reliant of CPU horsepower and not overall system. Everquest 2 for instants is a CPU hog people on older system take for ever to load maps and zones.

Also when beta starts are you guy gonna send a Beta questionnaire out so people can tell you what they have, or will beta client program determine your outside minimum speccs after a huge download..
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-16-2009, 11:20 AM
Konstantin Fomenko's Avatar
Konstantin Fomenko Konstantin Fomenko is offline
Reverie World Studios - Producer & Design Director
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,636
Konstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputation
Default

Lets set the record straight.

Dawn of Fantasy engine was designed to run on a large variety of older rigs.

For example, most of our developing comps, including mine, are over 2 years old. Anything with a dual core would run the game - so as far as CPU goes - DoF is really not a resource hog.

For example - sometimes I would have 4 instances of the game opened - 3 live editor sessions and a game client running as well.

The only problem right now - we are out of time to optimize the game to run on a large variety of older video cards. Which is something we plan to work on later on. From our perspective - the lower we can bring minimal requirements the better - more players, so we`ll do all we can in the future to lower video card requirements.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-16-2009, 11:47 AM
Lordadamar Lordadamar is offline
Human Sect:
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 97
Lordadamar has a default reputation
Default

Quote:
The only problem right now - we are out of time to optimize the game to run on a large variety of older video cards. Which is something we plan to work on later on. From our perspective - the lower we can bring minimal requirements the better - more players, so we`ll do all we can in the future to lower video card requirements.
So I guess we can assume if you design this game for low end GeForce 7600 and below v3 shaders theres gonna be allot of play in graphics adjustment.

Those older V3 cards only did like 6-14 billion colors a second, and the newer ones like mine do 47 Billion with shader v4. I would hope i could get it to not look like Diablo and more like Empire Total War, Which by the way kick ass..

just some thoughts

Last edited by Lordadamar : 03-16-2009 at 12:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:13 AM.

ESRB Rated T
US/CANADA
PEGI 16
EUROPE
USK 16
GERMANY

privacy policy   |   Copyright © Reverie World Studios INC.

Dawn of Fantasy and Reverie World Studios are trademarks of Reverie World Studios, Inc. Developed by Reverie World Studios, inc. All Rights Reserved. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.