Username:    Password:    Remember Me?         

Conquest and expansion? - Reverie World Studios Forums

Go Back   Reverie World Studios Forums > Kingdom Wars > Main Square
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2008, 06:19 PM
aVeron aVeron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden, närke
Posts: 93
aVeron has a default reputation
Default Conquest and expansion?

Salut all members of DOF-forum!

I Register on this forum yesterday and i must say Im really looking forward to this game!
The feature of this game looks so promising. I probobly got a milion question to ask about the game.. but one thing that keeps bugging me, which i dont have a clue about in this game is: how your supose to expand? Because from what i've read on this forum, is that your only allowed to build one city and i've also read that the limit of units will be around 1.000 units. Both things involves expansion..

Are you going to be able to take over cities that you conquer, or will you just be able to raise them from the ground? If your able to conquer then i think the unit limitation should be unlimited, whereas you gain more units when you expand.

Cheers, averon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-17-2008, 05:46 AM
nickson104 nickson104 is offline
Orc Sect:
Hordemaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wales (Britain)
Posts: 1,119
nickson104 is someone to look uptonickson104 is someone to look upto
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aVeron View Post
Are you going to be able to take over cities that you conquer, or will you just be able to raise them from the ground? If your able to conquer then i think the unit limitation should be unlimited, whereas you gain more units when you expand.

Cheers, averon

If your units were unlimited that would cause some major problems for gaming later on in the game, imagine both teams having 10,000 troops attacking each other.... lag is what it would be.
The 1000 unit limit seems pretty much perfect, not too much but not too little either.
As to the conquering cities... I am not too sure, being new myself... However I gather so as i remember hearing that you could eventually have a city or town or whatever for every race. So I think you can... please orrect me if I am wrong

And yeah Welcome to the forums
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-17-2008, 06:29 AM
aVeron aVeron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden, närke
Posts: 93
aVeron has a default reputation
Default

Well maybe not unlimit the unit limit.. but the game has to develop in the feature and some empires has to grow.. bye unlimit i meant, if you conquer another player, you'll gain his stronghold. then some of his population, which should increase your ability to have more units, that sounds reasonable, and secondly.. i dont think players will send several thousand of soldiers to each others... they will probobly be spread out alot..

Late game some players will be superior power, and with only 1.000 men in total? that sounds very small to me.. Alternative would be to have a unit limit in a battle, 2.000 max, whereas it is possible to have now.. but your still able to build more units, around your empire..

Limited population is just a typical thing about all rts games.. yes.. its because of avoid lags and bad performance.. but this game is supose to be epic!
I would really dislike the fact that you have to start sacrifice your peasents just to gain more pop for soldiers, in late game..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2008, 09:25 AM
The Witch King of Angmar's Avatar
The Witch King of Angmar The Witch King of Angmar is offline
Reverie Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minas Morgul, Middle-Earth
Posts: 1,809
The Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputationThe Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputationThe Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputationThe Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputation
Default

Welcome to the forums, and, yes, you can capture cities or destroy them. You can also build camps and outposts.
__________________
"Do not come between a Nazgul and his prey..."

Feel free to check out my soundcloud:
http://soundcloud.com/dylan-lang
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2008, 09:32 AM
Puppeteer's Avatar
Puppeteer Puppeteer is offline
Reverie Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,608
Puppeteer is just really nicePuppeteer is just really nicePuppeteer is just really nice
Default

Quote:
and with only 1.000 men in total? that sounds very small to me
Your ideas about parameters are far exceeding to that of mine.
__________________
There is a wealth of old topics with useful and unique information - your question may already have been answered!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-17-2008, 10:50 AM
aVeron aVeron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden, närke
Posts: 93
aVeron has a default reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Witch King of Angmar View Post
Welcome to the forums, and, yes, you can capture cities or destroy them. You can also build camps and outposts.
Ok, that sounds great, thanks for the welcoming!

But no one has spoken of how the conquering will effect your unit limit? Will it still stay the same even thoe you've conquered 2 other cities? Or will you gain a higher unit limit after more cities you conquer?

E.x. 1.000 your main city, then you conquer another one 1.500. third city 2.000, and so on... Just an idea..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-17-2008, 11:48 AM
The Witch King of Angmar's Avatar
The Witch King of Angmar The Witch King of Angmar is offline
Reverie Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minas Morgul, Middle-Earth
Posts: 1,809
The Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputationThe Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputationThe Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputationThe Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputation
Default

I think it will stay the same.
__________________
"Do not come between a Nazgul and his prey..."

Feel free to check out my soundcloud:
http://soundcloud.com/dylan-lang
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-17-2008, 12:29 PM
aVeron aVeron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden, närke
Posts: 93
aVeron has a default reputation
Default

I hope not... then i think it should be more then 1.000
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-18-2008, 05:46 PM
Esculas the Mighty Esculas the Mighty is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: States :D
Posts: 505
Esculas the Mighty is someone to look uptoEsculas the Mighty is someone to look upto
Default

omg!? what about camps being able to build there own units but the pop. cap is separate form your city but it has a small limit like 250 or 300

this will help you to be able to keep your enemies in check instead or having to march your army all the way back to them to re-conquer them
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-19-2008, 02:31 AM
aVeron aVeron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden, närke
Posts: 93
aVeron has a default reputation
Default

Yes well, for me it doesnt really matter where you get more units, Just that i know that you will get more then 1.000 in a late game.. eventhought you dont need to have 1.000 in every battle, the battlefields unitlimit could be different.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:52 PM.

ESRB Rated T
US/CANADA
PEGI 16
EUROPE
USK 16
GERMANY

privacy policy   |   Copyright © Reverie World Studios INC.

Kingdom Wars and Reverie World Studios are trademarks of Reverie World Studios, Inc. Developed by Reverie World Studios, inc. All Rights Reserved. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.