Username:    Password:    Remember Me?         

archers and attack move - Reverie World Studios Forums

Go Back   Reverie World Studios Forums > Kingdom Wars > Technical Support > Bug Reports
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-20-2012, 11:20 PM
Gruber12's Avatar
Gruber12 Gruber12 is offline
DoF Moderator
Mounted Grand Master
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 446
Gruber12 has a default reputation
Default archers and attack move

Iam having problems with my human archers doing a attack moving, shooting coupe arrows then stopping completely while the rest of the army attacks without support


also none abilites are activated

Last edited by Gruber12 : 12-20-2012 at 11:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2012, 10:22 AM
Konstantin Fomenko's Avatar
Konstantin Fomenko Konstantin Fomenko is offline
Reverie World Studios - Producer & Design Director
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,764
Konstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputation
Default

Could be a tempoary bug - if you restart the game should fix it. Othewise check that attack move button is not activated on the archers. If you are tasking them to location they`ll move first before opening fire.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2012, 09:09 PM
Gruber12's Avatar
Gruber12 Gruber12 is offline
DoF Moderator
Mounted Grand Master
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 446
Gruber12 has a default reputation
Default

It was happening in a quest and camp area. I also noticed that soemtimes my crossbow men attack move turned itself off
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2012, 10:09 PM
Gruber12's Avatar
Gruber12 Gruber12 is offline
DoF Moderator
Mounted Grand Master
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 446
Gruber12 has a default reputation
Default

was in camp, archers were doing their coward stuff but then i orderde some units to run back and when that happened it looked like the ranged units remembered their move orders
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-05-2013, 10:05 PM
Gruber12's Avatar
Gruber12 Gruber12 is offline
DoF Moderator
Mounted Grand Master
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 446
Gruber12 has a default reputation
Default

its starting to get annoying now. Not all selected units seem to have theirs turned on and some turn theirs off automatically. Its kind of annoying watching knights run and sit beside enemy archers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-06-2013, 12:14 AM
Atranox Atranox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Atranox has a default reputation
Default

This happens for me as well with Orc Marauders. Usually a couple will stand in front shooting arrows, and the rest (even a bunch from the same unit) will just stand around in the back doing nothing. This occurs both with attack move and when ordering them specifically to attack. It happens very frequently.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-06-2013, 12:38 AM
Sunleader Sunleader is offline
Human Sect:
Cavalier
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Somewhere between the Westcoast of the USA and the Eastcost of Japan
Posts: 451
Sunleader has good reputation
Default

I am surprised this wasnt reported before ????
Lol actually now it makes sense that you made it so that Attacking an Unit Directly is now fixed on that Unit and no longer Attack move.
I was wondering why the hell you did that but if you didnt know this its not an surprise......



Its an pretty Old Bug or well actually I never tought of it as Bug.
I tought its annoying but never tought that this is not Intended.



Archers and actually most Ranged Units usually deactivate their Move Order upon Enemy Contact.
Actually all Units Send on Attack Move will usually delete the Attack Move and the Move Order as soon as they engage an Enemy.

Melee Units will usually not be bothered by this because following Enemy Units will usually bring them into Sightrange and thus make em Attack again causing them to keep moving.


However if an Unit Meets an Enemy on Attack move and Reaches it they will usually stop after this.
Melee Units are in Range of other Units then and will Attack thus from there as they always would on aggressive stance standing near to an Enemy.
But Ranged Units which Attacked the Unit on Max Range will not have anymore Units in Range as they didnt move closer so they just stand there.



Actually that in itself is fine with me anyways.
The True Problem is that the Units in the Rear Lines which didnt reach the Enemy will keep the Attack Move Activatet while the Units which reached the Enemy Deactivated it.

But in most cases the unit showing in the corner down left still has it activatet
(usually only a few Squads engage and as soon as an certain number is attacking an unit this unit is not considered an possible target by others anymore)
So to get those Squads back into action you usually need to press the button twice.
(first to deactivate it for all Squads and then to reactivate it for all Squads again)

Back in the Day I always liked that Attacking an Unit was causing Attack Move.
because thanks to this you could just click on an Enemy Unit once they Stopped and they Moved On properly


Haha well if you didnt know this its not surprising that you changed this out.


Greetz Sun



edit:
By the Way Units which still have the Attack Move Order Active will also Remember the Attack Move when you issue an Additional Move Order.
They Only Forget after Enemy Contact or if you deselect the Button for them.
Otherwise they will keep the Attack Move Order even if you tell em to turn around or have em use Special Attacks or whatever.



edit:
Well actually if you think about it its logical
In the Programming there needs to be some Sort of Trigger for the Attack Move to have been Finished.
But they most likely didnt want to make it an One Time Order which will automaticly be overwritten with the next Move Order
So they Fixed the Trigger for its deactivation to the Attack itself Assuming they have now met the Enemy they were aimed at.
And with the Pathfinding system as it is I doubt they wanted to trigger it using an Position Check ^^

Well If I may Suggest something I would say to completly Scrap the Move Order and Instead make it an Third Stance.
Basicly

Aggressive = Unit will Regardless of Orders Attack Enemys in Sight (Current Attack Move just as Permanent Thing and thus allowing to immediatly issue an normal Move Order again without any trouble)

Defensive = Unit will Attack Units in Sight if no Other Orders were Given (Current Standart Aggressive Stance)

Hold Position = Unit will only Attack if an Enemy Actually Moves into Attack Range (Current Defensive Stance)



Greetz :P
__________________
In the Shadow of the Black Cross. We Fullfill our Duty in your Name.
And Look forward to the Day we Return to your side Silvanos.
Watching over our Comrades as they Fullfill their Duty in your Name.

Last edited by Sunleader : 04-06-2013 at 12:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:19 PM.

ESRB Rated T
US/CANADA
PEGI 16
EUROPE
USK 16
GERMANY

privacy policy   |   Copyright © Reverie World Studios INC.

Kingdom Wars and Reverie World Studios are trademarks of Reverie World Studios, Inc. Developed by Reverie World Studios, inc. All Rights Reserved. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.