Username:    Password:    Remember Me?         

castle - Page 2 - Reverie World Studios Forums

Go Back   Reverie World Studios Forums > Dawn of Fantasy > Main Square
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-05-2008, 12:41 AM
raving raving is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 306
raving is someone to look uptoraving is someone to look upto
Default

youre army needs 2 min's of walking to get from youre castle to the other castle and 1 min of running... thats sounds like a big map for me ^^.
__________________
Raving > Forum admins > you
;)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-05-2008, 10:21 PM
supagu supagu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 18
supagu has a default reputation
Default

we we talking in the MMO world or the skirmish mode?
I'd be nice to have the option there incase there were some maps big enough, which might not be feasible when the game is released (due to poor fps say) but maybe in 5 years when you go to play this game again and find some super massive maps

Always good to have some future proofing in games

*cough* more than the standard 8 players in multiplayer LAN games please (16 would be awsome) *cough*
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-06-2008, 02:08 PM
Neotyguy40 Neotyguy40 is offline
Elven Sect:
Mounted Grand Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 411
Neotyguy40 has a default reputation
Default

I want super massive maps... One with over 4 billion cities!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-06-2008, 03:03 PM
Puppeteer's Avatar
Puppeteer Puppeteer is offline
Reverie Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,608
Puppeteer is just really nicePuppeteer is just really nicePuppeteer is just really nice
Default

Castles are preset anyway, only the buildings inside can be built. So unless you propose some buildplot kind of expansion which builds the foundations, I see no viable route to achieving this.
__________________
There is a wealth of old topics with useful and unique information - your question may already have been answered!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-07-2008, 03:27 AM
raving raving is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 306
raving is someone to look uptoraving is someone to look upto
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puppeteer View Post
Castles are preset anyway, only the buildings inside can be built. So unless you propose some buildplot kind of expansion which builds the foundations, I see no viable route to achieving this.
ah well its probably for the best that castle's are preplot otherwise you would just get yourself in a great position watch youre enemy batter himself death on your walls and then go finish him.
__________________
Raving > Forum admins > you
;)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-07-2008, 04:12 AM
frankein_fish frankein_fish is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 389
frankein_fish is someone to look uptofrankein_fish is someone to look upto
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raving View Post
ah well its probably for the best that castle's are preplot otherwise you would just get yourself in a great position watch youre enemy batter himself death on your walls and then go finish him.
Well what i've seen of the castle design's it looks like the "Wall building AI"
uses terrain very effective. So u would probably get a better wall lay-out with the AI then building it yourself
__________________

Welcome to the bottom of the food chain
www.rtscomunity.com
"Blessed is the mind too small for doubt."
Diablo III---Starcraft II---Bloodline champions
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-11-2008, 04:56 PM
Joseph Visscher's Avatar
Joseph Visscher Joseph Visscher is offline
Reverie World Studios - Lead Level Designer, Senior Gameplay Programmer, 3D Animator, 3D-2D Artist.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canada B.C.
Posts: 1,279
Joseph Visscher has extremely good reputationJoseph Visscher has extremely good reputationJoseph Visscher has extremely good reputationJoseph Visscher has extremely good reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankein_fish View Post
Well what i've seen of the castle design's it looks like the "Wall building AI"
uses terrain very effective. So u would probably get a better wall lay-out with the AI then building it yourself
Stop referring me to "AI" I have feelings you know. Agreed I may be intelligent but I am not artificial!

This horse is going to kick me off isn't he? Lol.

Yea as I've said before having the player build his own castle design would look very unrealistic in just about every case. BFME2 strongholds. (Shivers and shaking in disappointment)
__________________
Joseph B. Visscher - JBV3737

Bugs aren't the problem, figuring out how to fix them is.

Last edited by Joseph Visscher : 06-11-2008 at 05:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-12-2008, 02:56 PM
†TYRANICK†™ †TYRANICK†™ is offline
Human Sect:
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Here =]
Posts: 78
†TYRANICK†™ has a default reputation
Default

I still feel as if there is a rather, perfectionist, "afraid of nooblets" outlook you guys have, you seem to be very untrusting in our capabilities :P.

Like with walls, whats the big deal? Sure in the MMO side preplot is a great idea for making sure there isn't ridiculous levels of wall or building spam. But for offline skirmish or campaign...you not going to give us just a little bit of freedom? Go on! lol.

Anyways, last I heard maps can and will be massive, not to mention the MMO world map, that certainly look huge! Especially if its seamless and streaming
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-12-2008, 06:52 PM
fyro11 fyro11 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 143
fyro11 has a default reputation
Default

Tyranick, if you enjoyed BFME1, this will be at least 10 times better.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-12-2008, 07:22 PM
Khyron Khyron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 68
Khyron has a default reputation
Default

Two castles on a a single map with a single controller. This concept could be very beneficial to these who know how to use it but for the less tactical and economic crowed would result in overwhelming them. Heck i remember playing star craft and getting overwhelmed after the 3rd or 4th forward/resource base. "Our base is under attack" oh ya which one. For DoF MMO part with the longer build times means splitting military forces to defend two bases and you are draining your resources faster with two building construction ques. Once you get both bases established you production or troops is double your opponents, it might balance out but the player with 2 bases will gain the advantage over the player with one base or one remaining base(if there 2nd castle was destroyed).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:04 PM.

ESRB Rated T
US/CANADA
PEGI 16
EUROPE
USK 16
GERMANY

privacy policy   |   Copyright © Reverie World Studios INC.

Dawn of Fantasy and Reverie World Studios are trademarks of Reverie World Studios, Inc. Developed by Reverie World Studios, inc. All Rights Reserved. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.