Username:    Password:    Remember Me?         

Terrain involvement in wall placement. - Reverie World Studios Forums

Go Back   Reverie World Studios Forums > Dawn of Fantasy > Main Square
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2008, 04:41 PM
Diggz Diggz is offline
Elven Sect:
Sentry
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In a hut on top of Mount Doom
Posts: 44
Diggz has a default reputation
Default Terrain involvement in wall placement.

Since walls are preset, what if you are, say, men of the alpine, and are in an easily defensible position. Will the preset walls wall off choke points and expand your walls to the edge of the cliff, so you theoretically control the plateau and the few choke points leading up to it?

In the screenshot for the men of the alpines castle, the walls were built up to the edges of the cliffs, and the gate the only way onto the plateau with a bridge crossing a gap from the area just beyond the castle into the rest of the area. In the event of a siege, can you collapse the bridge, thereby restricting access to your plateau?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2008, 06:37 PM
Neotyguy40 Neotyguy40 is offline
Elven Sect:
Mounted Grand Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 411
Neotyguy40 has a default reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diggz View Post
Since walls are preset, what if you are, say, men of the alpine, and are in an easily defensible position. Will the preset walls wall off choke points and expand your walls to the edge of the cliff, so you theoretically control the plateau and the few choke points leading up to it?

In the screenshot for the men of the alpines castle, the walls were built up to the edges of the cliffs, and the gate the only way onto the plateau with a bridge crossing a gap from the area just beyond the castle into the rest of the area. In the event of a siege, can you collapse the bridge, thereby restricting access to your plateau?
Well, you need to remember that siege weapons will be available, as in, rams can take down walls and stuff.

You can't effect the terrain (as in, make craters or something) so you can't really destroy land bridges, although I am not sure about normal bridges.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2008, 06:42 PM
The Witch King of Angmar's Avatar
The Witch King of Angmar The Witch King of Angmar is offline
Reverie Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minas Morgul, Middle-Earth
Posts: 1,809
The Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputationThe Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputationThe Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputationThe Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputation
Default

Again, it depends where the castle is built at. I'm not sure if you can expand walls, however.
__________________
"Do not come between a Nazgul and his prey..."

Feel free to check out my soundcloud:
http://soundcloud.com/dylan-lang
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2008, 06:47 PM
Neotyguy40 Neotyguy40 is offline
Elven Sect:
Mounted Grand Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 411
Neotyguy40 has a default reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Witch King of Angmar View Post
Again, it depends where the castle is built at. I'm not sure if you can expand walls, however.
You can make more walls though, which is what I plan to do, I will have:

Center ring:
-Palace

Second ring:
-Market
-Barracks

Third ring:
-Work areas and peasant houses

Outer ring
-Gaurd towers
-Barricades
-Trebuchets, catapults, other siege weapons
-Fortified defenses

I have plans for almost every obstacle reverie puts up in creating a city.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-27-2008, 07:25 PM
The Witch King of Angmar's Avatar
The Witch King of Angmar The Witch King of Angmar is offline
Reverie Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minas Morgul, Middle-Earth
Posts: 1,809
The Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputationThe Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputationThe Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputationThe Witch King of Angmar has extremely good reputation
Default

Lol I envy you. By looking at the screens of cities, that looks like how it may shape up to be. I'd like to be able to pick where to build though.
__________________
"Do not come between a Nazgul and his prey..."

Feel free to check out my soundcloud:
http://soundcloud.com/dylan-lang

Last edited by The Witch King of Angmar : 04-29-2008 at 02:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-27-2008, 09:46 PM
Diggz Diggz is offline
Elven Sect:
Sentry
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In a hut on top of Mount Doom
Posts: 44
Diggz has a default reputation
Default

Well, judging from the MMORTS displays or whatever they are called, there are 3 places you can build upon, and you get a randomly generated terrain for each one
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-29-2008, 02:11 PM
Joseph Visscher's Avatar
Joseph Visscher Joseph Visscher is offline
Reverie World Studios - Lead Level Designer, Senior Gameplay Programmer, 3D Animator, 3D-2D Artist.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canada B.C.
Posts: 1,279
Joseph Visscher has extremely good reputationJoseph Visscher has extremely good reputationJoseph Visscher has extremely good reputationJoseph Visscher has extremely good reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diggz View Post
and you get a randomly generated terrain for each one
Its not randomly generated.
__________________
Joseph B. Visscher - JBV3737

Bugs aren't the problem, figuring out how to fix them is.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-30-2008, 03:17 AM
†TYRANICK†™ †TYRANICK†™ is offline
Human Sect:
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Here =]
Posts: 78
†TYRANICK†™ has a default reputation
Default

I still dont like the idea of having no manual control over any of your walls, heres what i was thinking.

Why dont you just limit the amount of space, and area in which there buildable? I mean wall segments arent all that bad if they have "drag and stretch", I.E. you place one wall, and drag your mouse out and loads appear and you can bend and twist and turn them wherever you want.

I still think its incredibly restrcting.

Ok another question, what if you want to build and entirely new base in another part of the map? Are we only allowed 1 base?

I say give us a toggle for offline...at least.

Otherwise i guess i'll have to attempt to mod it my self :P
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-30-2008, 07:22 PM
Diggz Diggz is offline
Elven Sect:
Sentry
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In a hut on top of Mount Doom
Posts: 44
Diggz has a default reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Visscher View Post
Its not randomly generated.
sorry, i thought it was after reading the post about them.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:00 AM.

ESRB Rated T
US/CANADA
PEGI 16
EUROPE
USK 16
GERMANY

privacy policy   |   Copyright © Reverie World Studios INC.

Dawn of Fantasy and Reverie World Studios are trademarks of Reverie World Studios, Inc. Developed by Reverie World Studios, inc. All Rights Reserved. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.