Username:    Password:    Remember Me?         

Input delay - Reverie World Studios Forums

Go Back   Reverie World Studios Forums > Dawn of Fantasy > Technical Support
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2013, 12:53 PM
Kormakr Kormakr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Kormakr has a default reputation
Unhappy Input delay

There's a huge input delay in this game. Everything I do; from commanding troops to pressing buttons while playing is delayed by around half a second. And VERY often my input is not even registered. I've lost troops and income just because the game does not register me clicking on buttons and ordering troops to move. Once was really bad. They just ran right into their deaths, and no matter how much I tried to make them move away, there was no reaction from the game at all.
The game menues work normally.
It's not a latency problem as I have DoF installed on two computers, and the problem is identical on both.
Is there a fix I have to do? Or will it get patched soon?




Edit: I bought it off of steam if that is relevant.
2xEdit: Also, how do I change the in-game chat font? As it is now it's a horrible medieval text which is near impossible to read with small font size.

Last edited by Kormakr : 04-03-2013 at 12:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2013, 03:04 PM
Konstantin Fomenko's Avatar
Konstantin Fomenko Konstantin Fomenko is offline
Reverie World Studios - Producer & Design Director
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,702
Konstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputationKonstantin Fomenko has extremely good reputation
Default

With the game font we hope to have a solution later this week. This only effects some players it seem, and we will get to the bottom of this.

With the input - I think this is related to the chat lag we are having. It might get better after tonight patch. As far as unit movement - yes there is a 1 second delay, that`s on purpose.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2013, 01:34 PM
Kormakr Kormakr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Kormakr has a default reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Konstantin Fomenko View Post
With the game font we hope to have a solution later this week. This only effects some players it seem, and we will get to the bottom of this.

With the input - I think this is related to the chat lag we are having. It might get better after tonight patch. As far as unit movement - yes there is a 1 second delay, that`s on purpose.
As long as I get an immediate response from the game, the 1 second delay is ok with me. I don't understand why it is there though. If units instead used a second to accelerate to full speed that would be more understandable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-04-2013, 01:40 PM
Zvonzi's Avatar
Zvonzi Zvonzi is offline
DoF Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Croatia
Posts: 778
Zvonzi is on a good road to success
Default

I think they tried to make it more "realistic". That second represents time that is needed for your command to get from your "HQ" to your soldiers on the ground
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-04-2013, 04:40 PM
Kormakr Kormakr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Kormakr has a default reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zvonzi View Post
I think they tried to make it more "realistic". That second represents time that is needed for your command to get from your "HQ" to your soldiers on the ground
That is understandable. Total War for instance has an audible response the moment you give an order, but the units need a second to start moving. This game really needs that. I thought I had latency or that the game was still in beta because of all the weird problems I have. Really hope they get some fixing into the game now that it's gotten much attention on steam.
I like the atmosphere of the game, and would like to see these problems solved. It would definitely give a major boost to how the game feels.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-04-2013, 04:47 PM
Makaze Makaze is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6
Makaze has a default reputation
Default

I understand the delay but my issue is with thinking the command went through and it didn't. I have now just switched to double clicking while in battle to ensure the command went through. I think this might have to do with being able to move the screen with the right mouse button so it sometimes moves the screen very slightly instead of giving the unit(s) a move command.

-Makaze

"Death is relative, dear cousin"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:52 PM.

ESRB Rated T
US/CANADA
PEGI 16
EUROPE
USK 16
GERMANY

privacy policy   |   Copyright © Reverie World Studios INC.

Dawn of Fantasy and Reverie World Studios are trademarks of Reverie World Studios, Inc. Developed by Reverie World Studios, inc. All Rights Reserved. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.