You can lose troops when paying out as well as resources. It's a game mechanic. Also it will show you what troops/resources you will lose when you mouse over the payout button. This was implemented because of the rash of folks who at one point would simply DC or alt f4 the game when losing in pvp and get all their troops back.
When I'm not in my right mind my left gets kind of crowded.