Reverie World Studios Forums

Reverie World Studios Forums (http://www.reverieworld.com/forums/index.php)
-   Main Square (http://www.reverieworld.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Question About Editor Mode... (http://www.reverieworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1652)

Shadow 07-23-2010 01:46 AM

Question About Editor Mode...

I've been playing a game called Age of Mythology since it came out in 2002... One of the main reasons I'm still playing it is because it has such an amazing editor mode... So I was wondering what exactly will the editor mode be like in this game, I know that we'll be able to use triggers and scripting but will we be able to move buildings wherever we please, create entire continents, make completely new and unexpected ways to play the game like the ones I've seen develop over the years in AoM... or will it be a let down like the AoE3 editor and Civilization IV were allowing minimal creativity and forcing you to use the very limited amount of resources given to you? Really hope this game meets my expectations :D

Alex Walz 07-23-2010 10:57 AM

A lot of the developers behind Dawn of Fantasy started off as scenario designers for games like Age of Mythology and Age of Kings. So these games and their editors did play a significant role in the outcome of our scenario design editor. I may be a little bias, but I've used the scenario design editor for popular RTS games like Age of Mythology, Age of Empires III, Battle for Middle Earth, Rise of Nations, etc. and I'd have to say that our editor far surpasses all of them.

There may or may not be triggers. It's just not a big priority with everything else we are working on, but we may have a couple basic triggers. With that said, the scripting language DOF is based around, Lua, is incredibly user-friendly and easy to master. A lot of games, including World of Warcraft, use it, and it allows you to do so much more than simple triggers ever would.