PDA

View Full Version : Repeated bluescreens


SHCScratch
04-16-2013, 01:00 PM
Hi guys,

The game looks interesting, but I've bluescreened four times tonight trying to play it (Steam version). Nothing is running hot (it's too bloody cold in the UK!), and I don't have this problem with any other s/w. Details below, help very much appreciated :-).

DXDIAG:-

SHCScratch
04-16-2013, 01:02 PM
Bluescreen report:-

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 2057

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 116
BCP1: FFFFFA80103CE310
BCP2: FFFFF880053ABF60
BCP3: FFFFFFFFC000009A
BCP4: 0000000000000004
OS Version: 6_1_7601
Service Pack: 1_0
Product: 768_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\041613-10530-01.dmp
C:\Users\Patrick\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-19952-0.sysdata.xml

Read our privacy statement online:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

SHCScratch
04-16-2013, 01:07 PM
And here are the game logfiles.

SHCScratch
04-16-2013, 01:53 PM
Just updated to the latest nvidia drivers (I was only one behind) - same problem.

Hullu Hevonen
04-16-2013, 02:21 PM
you have the the minidump files or a stop code from the blue screen ?

it says you should have a minidump at:
C:\Windows\Minidump\041613-10530-01.dmp

also add the most recent minidump.

EDIT:
to view minidump files this software can view them
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html

SHCScratch
04-17-2013, 12:35 AM
hmm, it's telling me I don't have permission to "open" the mini-dump files when I try to upload them, even though the PC account I am using should, in theory, have local admin rights.

I have to go to work now, I'll try again later.

Hullu Hevonen
04-17-2013, 02:11 AM
can you open it your self with the viewer that I linked above?

SHCScratch
04-17-2013, 02:31 AM
I'll give it a go when I get home from work.

(and thanks for the help by the way :-)).

SHCScratch
04-17-2013, 12:34 PM
Attached is one of the mini-dumps. I had a friend of mine remote onto my machine. He knows a lot more about this stuff than I do these days :-).

His conclusion, after looking at the dump file with the viewer that Hulu recommended, was that it definitely wasn't the DDR3 memory but was the graphics card(s) even though it(they) should comfortably exceed the game's requirements. He then spanked the graphics card as hard as he could using FurMark, which demonstrated no problems.

Given that I have the latest nvidia driver and that I'd had a grand total of 17 BSODs in the last year (four of which occurred last night) he concluded that "it's the game". So we set all graphics options to the lowest possible.

So far so good.

But it does suggest something griebly with how the game plays with this nvidia card.

Thanks for your help Hulu. I am going the "old school route", slowly upping the graphics settings to see if I can find out what trips it.

EDIT: Not attached. When I try to upload the file it errors with "invalid file". Anyway, I think the rest probably stands :-).

Konstantin Fomenko
04-17-2013, 03:40 PM
As far as blue screens go - this is one of the first reports we had. Crashes to desktop, or game freezing yeah.

The BSD is almost always a hardware issue.

You could try to run through the usual steps, to make sure it`s not the game or the install though:

Go through most of the steps here:

http://steamcommunity.com/app/227180/discussions/1/828935361064641181/

bandor
04-17-2013, 06:10 PM
suggest you use some temperature monitoring

This game is nightmare on a cpu and honestly much harder on a graphics card than you would expect from the graphics quality.


I like these utility but here are many out there.
http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php you can make sure that automatic fan speed control is on

or
http://www.techpowerup.com/realtemp/
http://www.cpuid.com/

Avenger
04-17-2013, 07:05 PM
I havent come across any issues...

SHCScratch
04-18-2013, 04:44 AM
Well, with all of the graphics options off, I played successfully last night for about five hours, with no BSOD.

I'd previously checked the local content and it came up clean. Given this, and the fact that the game ran ok, I suspect reinstalling C++ redists etc doesn't have a lot of milage.

I'll start turning on graphics options one by one to see if I can find one that causes it to bluescreen.

SHCScratch
04-18-2013, 12:42 PM
So from "everything off, lowest settings all round", I changed one thing tonight - draw distance to "high".

Just had a BSOD.

It's not conclusive (and not what I would have expected), it's just a data point.... I'll set it back to low and leave it there tonight / tomorrow night.

Jester0311
04-18-2013, 12:56 PM
http://steamcommunity.com/app/227180/discussions/1/828935672757839009/

check out this thread. It not the same problem but i have a feeling there is an issue with the shaders. I believe there is also a value you can set in the same file regarding the draw distance, 4 being the highest.

SHCScratch
04-18-2013, 03:11 PM
Interesting. Shadows was my (ie "our") best bet too. Which is why I was suspicious when changing draw distance (with the lowest possible shadows setting) made my machine pop.

Still, if the devs are interested (hope so, it's one of the good things about "indy" games :-)), I will continue to experiment.

Brian Shingles
04-18-2013, 03:42 PM
Still, if the devs are interested (hope so, it's one of the good things about "indy" games :-)), I will continue to experiment.

Yes, we are interested :D Please continue with your experiments and let us know your findings.

We'll use this information to improve things if we can, or at least be able to inform other players with similar issues of their best option.