PDA

View Full Version : Memory leak and crash.


bandor
04-05-2013, 06:45 PM
After a few hrs the game gets up to 1.67gb of memory used and it crashes. Seems to always crash when it gets to this size.

log attached

edit: not sure why file did not attach earlier, it is attached now

Konstantin Fomenko
04-05-2013, 08:11 PM
Thanks - we will investigate, had a couple more reports like, seem to only effect certain hardware configurations.

Jester0311
04-05-2013, 09:19 PM
Im not seeing the log file attachment, would you mind uploading again please?

bandor
04-07-2013, 10:54 AM
This is is happening pretty often.

memory usage gets somewhere between 1.7 and 2.2gb and it crashes

I looked over dof.exe and the large address aware flag is checked. I've got a 64 bit os with 8gb ram. So > 2gb ram should not be a problem for the app.

DEV's any ideas on anything I can do to my system to try? Every avenue I explore leads back to checking the games source code for problems with pointers.

I've very limited programming skills, I deal with hardware and occasionally write simple scripts. But if I could help by running a monitoring tool/making changes to pc settings let me know.







Anyone searching and finding this post with a 32 bit os and having issues may want to try the following command
bcdedit /set IncreaseUserVA 3072
that will edit windows (only needed on 32 bit versions) to use 3gb instead of just 2 for a program.

Jester0311
04-13-2013, 12:09 AM
dxdiag please.
also any hard faults on memory during play?
have you done a memory remap?

bandor
04-13-2013, 09:11 PM
I tried setting my bios to factory default and I'm crashing less, but it still happens quite often. I'm not sure if the crashing less is a result of your last 3 patches or my changes. I did not crash for a few days this past week between your monday? and thursday/fri? patches. I forget the exact days you patched but between them I had 0 crashes. But after the big patch I've been crashing again. could just be bad luck on my part

I had some pretty aggressive timings voltages and overclock. But for me they have been stable for years.
orthos/prime95, various mem test have no problems, various benchmark programs have no problem. I can run a benchmark 24hr with no problem at full speed trying to crash my computer. I use my pc as a media server doing video transcoding so I keep it fast but stable.

In recent memory I've played completely through mass effect 3, dead space 3. I regularly play very heavy 3d shooters that have higher system requirements than dof on high res high texture with never a crash.

DOF does destroy my processor, it runs at 70% pretty consistently when running at standard from the factory speeds with spikes to 100%. It was running at 60-90% under my long standing overlock. I think your system requirements need upped a bit. I don't see anyone playing this with a 2.4 dual core when a 3.7 dual core is struggling.


It is time for an upgrade with the new intel haswell processors coming out very soon. The Intel Xeon E3-1230 V2 is quite tempting to just buy now though.


and yes, memory mapping is on in the bios

Jester0311
04-13-2013, 09:29 PM
Try reverting your DPI back down to 100% instead of 125% this has been known to cause some issues.
Aside from the issue, I was rather disappointed haswell is still 22nm. In regards to the xeon unless your getting a helluva price they are crap in comparison.
Take full advantage of the ivy-bridge with a Intel Core i7-3930K, can be pricey though.
Ive attached the DXDIAG form my laptop for comparison if you like.

bandor
04-14-2013, 12:57 AM
Nice laptop, about 500-1k above the budget I've set and 17 inches is too small for me to be able to read anything. I don't see well.

e3-1230 is down to 200$, paired with a asrock z77e4 I believe they would work well
has hyperthreading, works on most enthusiast mobo, I don't need the integrated graphics
I welcome thoughts on the subject!

I've gone ahead and changed dpi setting for the machine. Will see how that goes.


Have you seen using dof.exe with dpi compatibility settings working well? Or does changing the windows display setting itself provide more benefit?

bandor
04-14-2013, 08:40 AM
Played 1 round of pvp, did some econ, game crashed loading 2nd round of pvp.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Dof.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 5145f95e
Fault Module Name: Mithrill.dll
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 51673daa
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 001cb8a5
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Jester0311
04-14-2013, 10:07 PM
rename mithrill.dll to .old and add mithrill.dll to exception list if you have it. reverify.
ive seen a couple threads of mithrill issues since a patch so may be unrelated.

Jester0311
04-16-2013, 06:08 PM
Try reverting your DPI back down to 100% instead of 125% this has been known to cause some issues.
Aside from the issue, I was rather disappointed haswell is still 22nm. In regards to the xeon unless your getting a helluva price they are crap in comparison.
Take full advantage of the ivy-bridge with a Intel Core i7-3930K, can be pricey though.
Ive attached the DXDIAG form my laptop for comparison if you like.

Please allow me to apologize if i was out of context or out of line on my "crap" content, i strictly meant in comparison to the 3930 of which i myself could not squeeze into my rather generous budget as a project completion bonus :) Though i feel i got the most bang for my buck.

bandor
04-16-2013, 09:00 PM
Please allow me to apologize if i was out of context or out of line on my "crap" content, i strictly meant in comparison to the 3930 of which i myself could not squeeze into my rather generous budget as a project completion bonus :) Though i feel i got the most bang for my buck.

3930 is 12k on passmark

the 1230 is only 9k


So 30% faster in raw cpu power, but 100% more expensive. I agree, performance wise the xeon is crap in comparison. But I can't justify the price.

I just got my debt all paid off, the IRS off my back, and custody of my 2 kids. Lesson learned never get married. So my budget is a bit tight.

I'm pulling the trigger on the newegg order for the xeon friday, still thinking over the mobo. asrock z77 in the lead.

Jester0311
04-17-2013, 12:50 AM
never had a problem with an asrock in general though i can t speak personally on the z77 i've heard good things. Though not long ago my shop has boycotted ASUS ( kinda sucks that we have to ) due to receiving not 1, not 2 but 3 flagship mobos with bent/deformed proc pins. They proceded to blame us by saying we attempted to put the proc in with plastic covers still on them. Not going to rant and preach the expierience levels of our three man shop but we are the kind of people who take perfect high end systems to the geek squad just to mess with them :) On final note im not saying dont buy asus im just sharing my expierience with them on a professionalism aspect and i still "personally" own asus equipment. LOL spend 6 figures a year with someone and they call you morons LOL

Regarding your budget send me your specs/shopping cart. I have reps who work for us at CDW, Tiger Direct, PC Mall, PC Connection, Clevo (AvA Direct). PM me and ill hook you up with one of them with my discount. Might squeeze that extra part in there or an upgrade :)