PDA

View Full Version : UI complaints.


Mark Ashton
04-02-2013, 11:46 AM
Hey all,

I'm seeing a few comments saying bad or crappy UI and such things but not much into explaining as whats specificly is bad about it.

If any of you guys here share those same thoughts on the UI and can elaborate on what is bad about it, It would be really helpful.:cool:

Thanks

Mark.

Konstantin Fomenko
04-02-2013, 12:24 PM
Mark - you might wanna ask on Steam forums as well. My guess we need to start by adjusting the font, and maybe work on the art as well... but yeah lets get some feedback, I wanna work on a new UI soon.

Bob9009
04-02-2013, 04:03 PM
One problem I'm having is that the unit info in the bottom left corner is quite hard to read, especially with elves, due to the background clashing with the font. I'm playing in 1920x1080 and I'm straining quite a bit to read it.
The text on the icons in the top right is also quite hard to make out, but that doesn't need to be read that often, so it's not really an issue.

Qthemuse
04-02-2013, 06:06 PM
There is alot actually but here are the biggest things I see. Cooldowns aren't easy to see, there should be a number countdown when you click something.
There are no hotkeys for the abilities and units.
There is no easy way to see how to make a unit run faster.
The textures for the UI are blocky and not crisp.
Elves pray for the dead but it is called looting, should be named properly.
Some of the tooltips, for instance looting are incomplete and don;t tell what they do.
There is no AoE indicator, something say 600 range, how far is that? I guess you could say 100000 range with no reference no point.
Why have that ugly 3d model texture above every unit you click on, no no reason at all. Maybe some nice 2D art perhaps, even when its covered up by the chat window, which you should be able to move easily.
Skill points notification is not easy to see. Almost white, should be GOLD and sparkles because nothing says use this **** like gold and sparkles.
Should be able to name our squads. If i want to call my orc swordman the GoatChokers then I should be able to.
Oh sweet i leveled up my hut, how do i find out how the hell what level my other huts are out of my million of other huts. Oh wait I can't.

No smart casting, spells don;t really give a good visual representation, click on OGre, oh its enraged!!!
How do i know it is enraged, any visual ques?
Nah man, MAGIC and stuff.

On a side note, your textures need a hires pack. I know old game, but there should be an option for some sweet high rez textures.

And those are just off the top of my head.

Good game though but some ideas.

cuendillar
04-02-2013, 06:14 PM
I agree with much of what the previous poster said. I would also add I would like to see the ability to customize key configurations, fixes to the chat system (general tab switching doesnt work all the time, for example), and how to tell the range of ranged uinits (how close/far do I need to be for my arhers/trebuchets/etc to engage?).

cuendillar
04-02-2013, 06:28 PM
And add the ability to easily see how many houses are queued to be built (any any other structure, unit, or item).

Konstantin Fomenko
04-02-2013, 07:02 PM
Thanks for the feedback guys - please keep it coming. We plan to start work on UI rework next week.

beachedwalrus
04-02-2013, 07:57 PM
For me the UI is the biggest let down in this game but in all honesty it won't stop me playing this game, however some people who are not used to playing games with bad UI might think this game is horrid.

Here are a list of things i can think up off the top of my head (Just so you know my resolution is at 1920x1200)

1. When i click on a building to build something the icons are really small and you cannot distinguish between most of them meaning you have to scroll over them to read the tooltip. Maybe they were designed to run at a lower resolution?

2. Text isn't the most legible, it is passable but i still think the font or something could be better. Once again it could be a resolution issue.

3. Creating an army for the trade mission was probably the most confusing thing i had to do so far. When i go out to the main map maybe when you select your town a radial dial comes up with an option to create an army, just to keep it in line with how you have done building things. The box down in the left hand corner was a bit confusing at first, i had to read the help section. Once you understand how to do it, it no longer is really an issue but i saw a few people in chat asking the same thing yesterday.

4. Quest dialogue could be made crisper, add some spacing between the dialogue and the options.

If i think of anything else i will make another post.

Mark Ashton
04-03-2013, 02:47 AM
Thanks for the feedback everyone.

beachedwalrus
04-03-2013, 06:14 AM
I noticed another one. When playing as the elves the tool tips display the wrong numbers for a few units. Deers are 70 food, tooltip says 50. Spirits are also wrong.

Stamoose
04-03-2013, 07:16 AM
Very new to the game, but just made a forum account for my issue.

I realize multi-monitor won't be priority, but I'm running 3 monitors and all the information (such as when I select the unit) is either on the extreme left of my left monitor, or the extreme right of my right monitor. There's usually some sort of sacrifice needed to be made for multi-monitor set ups, but first world problems....am I right?

Either way, you asked for UI complaints, so I decided to at least post mine for your consideration. Thanks!

Khadgarion
04-03-2013, 04:29 PM
Unit selection is kind of strange.

If I click the archer icon at the top left, it selects all my archers and shows me how many there actually are at the bottom left. But if I click a specific one, i can't really tell if it was selected or not.

Also, most RTS games, if you double tap the number for a control group, it'll take you to where that group currently is on the map. I'd love to have that added.

Thanks guys.

Sovelis
04-04-2013, 08:13 AM
Well i think that you should show the unit changes if they go onto towers or get bonuses or minuses from buffs and what not. Also if a region give a bonus or minus to a certin unit or buliding you should show the change instead of making people do the math for each item.

Darkfyre
04-04-2013, 08:35 AM
I made a big post about the problems with the UI and suggestions for fixing them here:
http://www.reverieworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6768

HamsterofDoom
04-04-2013, 09:30 AM
https://docs.google.com/drawings/d/1nqa5TXc6wGzR3i-gDiwF2hmWPYG8el7am-ZLnWk5bqA/edit?usp=sharing

It would be nice if the UI was all condensed in one area. It doesn't have to be the left hand corner, but this picture is to give you kind of an idea. The circle/wheel thing is nice if you have a controller, or if you are selecting a human/elf plot to build on.

haexxa
07-19-2013, 08:14 AM
One thing I want to mention:

Contrast

The UI lacks it. Meaning less structure for backgrounds to highlight buttonborders and fonts.

And I have a Question:
Why are unit-stats lagging and sometimes wrong? It doesn't disturb me too much, but it should get fixed and I wonder how such can even happen?

aramsm
07-19-2013, 10:59 AM
Hello all,

My complaints (maybe more could come):
-first its dificult for me to see the information on the interface, and I mean dificult to see literally, not that is dificult to find it (this is another issue). I believe that as our backgrounds are multi-color because of the art, on the dark spots you cant see the letters if you set it to dark colors, and when you set to white or something you cant see it in the bright spots of the UI. You could fix this with a default background color at the places that we must read (like chat and units informations), like all other games.
-other big issue is to level up the units and select it using UI. For example if 3 squads leveled up, but I have 10 squads from the same unit, I have to exclude one by one till only the three squads left or till one of the leveled up squads reach the front of the line of units selected. We could change the first squad on that line (the squad that are displayed on the left side) by only left clicking on it, but instead when we do that the whole army you selected is diselected, only remainning that squad that you left clicked.
-other thing, and this is a bug, when you added new units, the elf enchanters stance option desappeared. This is essential since I need to set them as passive.
-hot keys for those instances and habilities is also appreciate.
-the icons of each squad should blink when they are engaged in combat.
-after a fight I miss a summary of how many squads I lost, because I need this information to replenish my army as it was before.
-there should be some way to "clean" the interface and make easier to see the essential informations. For example, those circules that we use to see squad formation, level up, change stance etc are too close each other and maybe the icons could be larger. Perhabs those informations should be displayed in a straight line above our screen. The same thing for units stats: is dificult to see where is the damage, armor, stamina etc. Maybe it should be organized in a columm, like:
Attack:
303 Slash/ 150 Blunt/ 345 Pierce
Armor:
etc/etc/etc
Stats should be displayed per theme, I mean, attack and defence, stamina and health, level and exp, speed and ammo (minor informations). HP should come first, then stamina, attack, defence, level and exp, speed and ammo, all organized in a columm, not splitted in a circule.