PDA

View Full Version : No text in my menu


Redus
02-22-2012, 06:16 AM
------ ------ ------- ---- ---------

Well kinda hard to read is it not :P This is how my menu look like. I tried reinstalling. First reinstall simply to progam files, but game kept crashing even as admin and second reinstall to somewhere else, game starts, but the menu text only contains of dashes. I could not find a thread about this yet so I hope someone can some with a solution.

Konstantin Fomenko
02-22-2012, 09:56 AM
Hello Redus,

Most likely it`s one of the following:

-Check your Windows Font settings (are you on Win 7?) - make sure they are small or medium, large fonts can cause this problem.
-Check if you have latest Direct X drivers and latest Microsoft .net framework

If that doesn`t help, here`s couple of questions for you:

-What language is your Windows - English?
-What is your video card model
-Can you please open main Dawn of Fantasy folder, look up Log1.txt file and either post it here (using Attachment Manager - u can see it when u reply), or e-mail it to support@reverieworld.com . With this file we should be able to fix this for sure.

Neinth
02-22-2012, 08:13 PM
to install the fonts,go to install directory,open folder named "font" double clicking those two files should install the fonts correctly,if not copy and paste the two files to fots directory(windows)

Niko9
05-06-2013, 02:28 AM
So to surmise, the font for all menu content past Kingdom Wars does not display, but most everything else on the menus does. Secondarily, in-game my resource bar in the top right does not display any text, just the background image. I cannot see my resources when they are in my city or in an army. I can see a unit's level in my city, or in a battle, but the font displaying the level doesn't show when I view them in the Army.

Checked my Logs and saw this in every single one.

Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed
Raster Error Font GetCharWidth32 failed

Graphics = nVidia 560 2GB on-board

Niko9
05-06-2013, 02:34 AM
As follows:

Niko9
05-06-2013, 05:35 AM
Ghost Resources, lovely! lol.. so easy to manage an economy based game with no idea how much you have..... :/

Niko9
05-06-2013, 05:42 AM
1) Reinstalling the fonts in the game directory.
2) Reinstalling the game itself.
3) Graphics Drivers are up to date
4) .Net Framework is up to date.
5) Changed font/icon sizing in Windows Settings (They were already on the smallest, I tried bumping them up to 125% - that didn't do anything but annoy me visually)
6) And yes, it's a fair assumption, I relogged at least once throughout this process.
7) If it were a physical item I would try to give it the US Army 5 ft drop test but alas, it is not.

PS: Running through steam as well.

Hi11Zone
05-06-2013, 05:40 PM
Did you try reloging? Do you still have this issue?

Diivv
05-06-2013, 05:46 PM
Same here, all my words are so tiny, and my UI is all stretched (before i was hit by a bug), i would show you a picture but i didn't take any until after i got hit by the bug.

But my whole UI was stretched and i had tiny tiny tiny writing, and it really did strain my eyes.. :confused:

and i didn't see an option to configure your UI with your screen resolution during the time i had before i was hit by that bug. :(

So maybe if there isn't one already, could you please add a menu option, so you can fit your UI with your screen resolution, because every one has a different sized screen. :D

My Current screen resolution: 1440 x 900. :)

Niko9
05-07-2013, 05:30 AM
6) And yes, it's a fair assumption, I relogged at least once throughout this process.

I think I did. :)

Konstantin Fomenko
05-07-2013, 10:17 AM
Guys,

Please try the following

1) Re-validate files on Steam, this could actually be an issue
-Right click on Dawn of Fantasy in your Steam Library, and go to Game Properties
-In Game properties click on Local Files, and select Re-validate game files.

2) Install the game using our own client: http://dof.reverieworld.com/download.php
You can keep your Steam installation as is, no problem there with having both.

3) Download and Install this font on your Windows: http://www.fontpalace.com/font-download/Trebuchet+MS/

Niko9
05-07-2013, 12:15 PM
I have tried revalidating, but will try the standalone version thing.... btw, your link to the font is broken. Returns a 500 Internal Server Error. Will find it on my own if that's all it needs to be. Should be in my backup font directory. :)

Niko9
05-07-2013, 12:31 PM
It was simply the font library I was missing, as I'd asked before on what fonts you changed to. Woo man... talk about a relief. Thank you Konstantin, I take back everything I said about Canadians... in the past week, :B lol jk... Thanks guys. Seems to be 100% good to go just reinstalling the Treb fonts from my backup folder. I'm a graphic designer so I have about 20k fonts... which ends up lagging Photoshop and such.. so I keep 95% of them in another folder. Thanks again!

Niko9
05-07-2013, 12:36 PM
Don't suppose I could get a little compensation for my troubles? lol... Just a lil something to say you love me? :P Crowns, dwarven armies, dragons, a gazillion dollars... whattteverrr. :D This has been a constant pain for days on end lol. :D *cough* I like my human city right meow, just saying.... dooooby dooooooo

Konstantin Fomenko
05-07-2013, 05:02 PM
Ok a little something is in order - some Dwarves:) Check your PM.

Niko9
05-07-2013, 09:26 PM
Thanks much good Sir. I hope things get hammered out for you guys. If you need graphical help, hit me up. LOL :)