PDA

View Full Version : Column Formation?


MrBlack103
02-10-2009, 03:06 AM
Yet another question:

Will units automatically shift to column formation when travelling long distances or squeezing through tight spaces (such as gates)? It would make unit movement a whole lot more realistic and a lot easier, IMO.

Jean=A=Luc
02-10-2009, 06:27 AM
I doubt a group of units in formation is going to get stuck at a gate because it can't fit through it. In any case a column formation only makes sense if the devs implement an actually speed bonus for it. Otherwise it's just going to be a bunch of units moving in column formation without real meaning to it.

Andy Joslin
02-10-2009, 07:58 AM
It wouldn't be hard to implement. And Jean, many games do this because it's easier on pathfinding.

Jean=A=Luc
02-10-2009, 06:38 PM
What I mean is that in practically any RTS where you have formation, take Total Was games for example, whenever a group of units in formation passes through a narrow space (like a gate) the formation will temporarily tighten (units will come closer together) and after passing through it will return to its previous state (formation).

It would be silly to have to manually switch to a column formation whenever your units are passing through a tight space, right?

The_Biz
02-10-2009, 08:17 PM
formations are good. it's better than winning just because you have 400 APM and can micromanage your units inidividually into formations yourself.

Puppeteer
02-11-2009, 11:27 AM
I think that if a column of troops walks over a bridge in step, the bridge should collapse under them :p Hehe although that could happen, there's no point for it in a game.

Andy Joslin
02-11-2009, 11:51 AM
What I mean is that in practically any RTS where you have formation, take Total Was games for example, whenever a group of units in formation passes through a narrow space (like a gate) the formation will temporarily tighten (units will come closer together) and after passing through it will return to its previous state (formation).

It would be silly to have to manually switch to a column formation whenever your units are passing through a tight space, right?

Ah..I misread your post.

Anyway, we don't have this at the moment, but we may get it in future.