PDA

View Full Version : DoF Updater

rhamlin
11-15-2011, 12:54 PM
Hello all. After reading the forums, I've been able to make some progress in getting closer to being able to play the game.

I purchased DoF at Direct2Drive, and downloaded the installation files.

I am running Windows 7.
I am an administrator on the computer.
I have the latest .Net frameworks installed.

After the initial installation, when I launched the game, the updater would not do anything (no indication in the progress bar).

I then read the forums, and set the executable to "Run as Administrator", AND set the compatibility to Windows XP SP 3. This did not have any effect.

I then read a thread where a link to a new updater was provided. I downloaded the updater, and placed it in the DoF directory. Once executed, the game began to update successfully. The updater completes several iterations of updates. After running the updater numerous times (each subsequent time it updates a different number of files). I then try to "play" the game, and receive an error on screen:

"DoF could not run! You should re-run the updater to verify again!"

Also, every time I run the updater, it seems to need to download 2 files, over and over again, as if it is stuck in some kind of loop.

Also, the updater-log contains the following:

TimeStamp:11/15/2011 1:28:15 PM

Details:System.ComponentModel.Win32Exception (0x80004005): The specified executable is not a valid application for this OS platform.
at System.Diagnostics.Process.StartWithShellExecuteEx (ProcessStartInfo startInfo)
at DoFUpdater.WPFWindows.winMain.Play_Click(Object sender, RoutedEventArgs e)

Tag:Error

TimeStamp:11/15/2011 1:30:31 PM

Details:System.ComponentModel.Win32Exception (0x80004005): The specified executable is not a valid application for this OS platform.
at System.Diagnostics.Process.StartWithShellExecuteEx (ProcessStartInfo startInfo)

TimeStamp:11/15/2011 1:31:48 PM

TimeStamp:11/15/2011 1:32:46 PM

TimeStamp:11/15/2011 1:35:01 PM