PDA

View Full Version : Hoy about using the total war serie units placement management?


gilkzo
11-08-2011, 01:45 AM
Hello there,

I am a big fan of the total war serie and when I started playing DOF I instinctively tried to place my units with the usual right-click slide way we do in the total war serie.

The way it works is like this:

Lets assume you watch your regiment from behind;

You select your troop and then you right click somewhere and hold it. The position you right click will define the top left corner of the future position of your unit, then you hold the right click and slide your mouse. The position you release the right click will define the top right corner of the future unit position. Then the unit will start moving at this postion and rearange herself on this position.

It works well on the total war serie because when you do a large click slide, the units will rearange itself with a number of lines of men depending on the width of your click-hold. On DOF, you have t unlock some troops arrangement so it might create a little problem with this way of managing units.

It is probably an idea that have been raised before. I will complete this post with pictures to explain it better. But not right now because i am at work :)

Thanks all

88Chaz88
11-08-2011, 02:07 AM
Dats all too order like for me orcs!

Seriously though, it's a good idea. Being a massive fan of the Total War series I was instinctively trying to achieve this too. Even though I'm now liking the way my orcs behave like a chaotic horde, it does seem silly to have the humans and elves do the same.

Joseph Visscher
11-08-2011, 07:41 PM
No need for pictures or any of that, all of us at reverie know exactly what you are talking about.

We wanted to added this for months but getting a stable game and correctly working fully functional online experience is our top priority, afterwards this will defiantly be a feature to add within a month or two, at least I hope.