PDA

View Full Version : Cursor Bug. Game is unplayable. Menu Bug too.


evansgreen
10-03-2011, 03:21 PM
Good night developers. I bought this game full of hype and good will, completely decided to accept a pre-release state of game and to cope with some of the technical problems I read everywhere the game had, in order to give this game, which I thought it was a brilliant concept, a good chance to develop itself and some of my well-earned money.

I expected some bugs and glitches. I did.

Regarding the game, I can't tell how good or bad it is because I haven't been able to play it since I downloaded it. I'm not going to name every single trouble I had one by one, but the most important game-breaking ones:

1. If I move my mouse cursor, while it is moving, the screen freezes. No matter what. I have a good PC, GTX 480, AMD 4 processors 2.5, 4gb ram, windows 7, everything else runs smooth. Graphics being high or low does 0 impact on performance they're always 60 fps if I don't move the mouse. But if I do, while I do, 0 fps and if I "abuse" moving the mouse game crashes.

This makes the game virtually unplayable and extremely annoying. Please help me with this issue, cause I would like, now that I already paid the money, to at least be able to try the game and play a few hours, and who knows, maybe more (though in such state of development I'm afraid it's not going to be possible).

2. If I press "escape" to open the menu a few times, I don't know if related to mouse cursor moving bug, the menu dissapears and it doesn't let me open the menu again. Any other window no problem. The menu just "cease to exist". Alt f4 has been my only option until now. Sad.


Finally, I just want to say again that I want to like the game. I really do. I have to congratulate the team for a brilliant concept, some refreshing air into what seems to be an uprising genre, but whoever is responsible for the release of such an alpha version of it, should be having trouble to sleep (that being if he sleeps at all and he's not patching like there is no tomorrow :P)

evansgreen
10-03-2011, 05:26 PM
Apparently I'm not the only one having the "cursor" or "mousemovement" bug.

I found another post about it on the technical support forums, but it is unanswered.

chanman20
10-03-2011, 05:34 PM
dont worry kon will be on in a bit and help you trust me hes been busy but he will answer it:D

Konstantin Fomenko
10-03-2011, 07:15 PM
Ok - lets get this fixed. This is a second instance of this bug reported, so this is a rare issue.

0) you probably did this already - but make sure you have the latest Direct X and Video Card drivers.

1) What resolution are you running Windows on? If it`s really high, try to change it to 1980 x
If this doesn`t help

2) After you start the game and get this issue. Exit Game, go to the installation folder, locate Log1.txt file, and include it with your Reply (you forums Attachment Manager)

3) Also it would really help if you could post your Direct X info, you can google: "how to get dxdiag" if you are not sure how.

Sephriem
10-03-2011, 07:50 PM
I had a problem with the mouse freezing when I moved it, it was a problem with hardware acceleration. Not sure if there is an option to disable it in the options, if there is then that should fix it. If there isn't you can google a guide on how to manually do it for your windows.

evansgreen
10-04-2011, 06:42 AM
Ok, I'm going step by step doing what you told me, so:

0) Yes, I already redownloaded the game and reinstalled it, installed the latest mouse, graphics card drivers, and installed the latest version of Direct X. Result: No changes.

1) I usually play on 1650x1080, and that's the resolution I have windows on, I tried to play on different resolutions and change the resolution in windows. Result: No changes.

2) I uploaded the Log1.txt with this reply.

3) I did the DxDiag, I'm attaching it to this reply.


It may be of interest the fact that I don't actually have to start "playing" to get the bug, cause in the main menu screen, with the animation of the orcs storming the walls, there I can experiment the bug. When I move my cursor, everything, menus, graphics in the background, everything freezes until I stop moving it. I can see there is a pattern depending on the speed and the direction of the movement, but I can't identify clearly which pattern.

Thanks for your quick answer, let's hope the fix is as quick as that ;-)

Konstantin Fomenko
10-04-2011, 10:31 AM
Ok we checked the knowledge base and there are two solutions

1) Setting your Windows fonts (in control panel under accessibility) to small or medium.

2) Disable mouse hardware acceleration as Sephriem suggested bellow.

Please let us know if these work for you.

Joseph Visscher
10-04-2011, 11:26 AM
Running the game in window mode may fix this.

Go to the games main directory. C:\Program Files\Reverie World Studios\Dawn of Fantasy what ever it is.

Inside you will find a file called local_saved_data, open it with notepad, Inside you will see
<WindowMode type="bool">0</WindowMode>

Change the 0 to a 1 so its
<WindowMode type="bool">1</WindowMode>

save the file and try turn on the game and tell us what effect it has.

Window mode is currently really buggy so you wont be able to play with it like that, but if it seems to work with your mouse moving around, it is most likely a hardware acceleration problem or a program conflict, do you have a program that changes how your mouse works do you have really odd mouse settings or something?

Anyways see if window mode is any different at all.

evansgreen
10-04-2011, 01:14 PM
Ok, step by step again:

1. Running the game in windowed mode, the game doesn't even start, crashes every single time in the first or second credits screen. So yes, I agree in the fact that windowed mode is still pretty buggy ;).

2. Already did the fonts things tried every possible combination. Doesn't work.

3. I own a razer Mamba mouse, which uses some kind of program to regulate the dpi, and some other parameters. Anyway is easy to close the program. I did, this one, and any other program susceptible of being closed was closed. No changes on the symptoms. Still freezes the same when I move my cursor.

Atm I'm working in disabling the mouse hardware acceleration, but I've been unable to do it. Seen many posts, and none of their ways are working for me. Any help on this? I'm using windows 7 x64.

At least all the things above are discarded.

evansgreen
10-04-2011, 01:34 PM
An update on the acceleration issue:

So far all the attemps of supposedly eliminating the hardware acceleration (which I think I did) still give no results.

I found out the program that controls the mouse functions (which remember had little impact on performance cause doesn't matter if it's on or off, the bug is still there) has an independent mouse acceleration. It was disabled because I disabled it for other games, but I tried to activate it and set it in very high values just to see if it had any impact on the performance. 100% the same. The fact that the mouse moves faster or slower, or have more or less acceleration has 0 impact on the performance.

There is a concrete speed of my hand moving it that completely freezes the screen (it goes to 1fps). If I move it below that, it gets the slower the better, but still lowers fps considerably.

Well, that's pretty much everything I can do for now, I'll wait for some answers from you guys. Thank you for your fast attention and your interest in my problem, but on the other hand I reassert that the state of the release is shameful, I've run into a thousand bugs in two days, and I feel like I'm beta testing your game and loosing the whole afternoon to be able only to "play". The whole in-game chat, if you monitor it, 4 of every 5 conversations going on are people complaining about bugs, or talking about them if not complaining.

I trust your interest and sacrifice, and will stay playing and helping you to track and eliminate bugs like a beta tester, but you're going to need a crazy amount of work to fix this whole game before too many people buys it in this state and start posting in the metascore or review sites.

evansgreen
10-09-2011, 05:04 AM
Hello. It would help to see someone actually saying: Hey, we're doing something.

Sorry for the rush, but don't forget that impatience is the first thing you should expect when you sell a 30 euros game that is utterly bugged and unfinished (I was going to use the word unpolished, but this one would be an euphemism), and with many of the features announced not implemented.

You're using us for beta testing, while you get some funds. I, myself, do not approve.

But I say this like you care.

Novakiller
10-14-2011, 07:48 PM
Just thought i would add to this post, I'm currently experiencing this same issue on my main computer and trying to figure out how to fix it without a reinstallation of my graphics drivers. I'll post the machine specs this happens on, its a damn weirdo bug, I dont have any problems running the game on my other machine that i've been using since launch, it only messes up when i move the mouse even just a tiny bit.

Processor : AMD Phenom II X6 1090XT
Mobo : Asus
RAM : 8GB DDR3 1333 Gskill Ripjaw series
Graphics : X2 Nvidia EVGA GTX 560 Ti's in SLI Mode
PSU : BFG 1000WATT PSU
OS : Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Mouse : Roccat Kone +
Keyboard : Logicteck G10

Running at 1600X900 with the most recent nvidia drivers

Novakiller
10-14-2011, 07:52 PM
Running the game in window mode may fix this.

Go to the games main directory. C:\Program Files\Reverie World Studios\Dawn of Fantasy what ever it is.

Inside you will find a file called local_saved_data, open it with notepad, Inside you will see
<WindowMode type="bool">0</WindowMode>

Change the 0 to a 1 so its
<WindowMode type="bool">1</WindowMode>

save the file and try turn on the game and tell us what effect it has.

Window mode is currently really buggy so you wont be able to play with it like that, but if it seems to work with your mouse moving around, it is most likely a hardware acceleration problem or a program conflict, do you have a program that changes how your mouse works do you have really odd mouse settings or something?

Anyways see if window mode is any different at all.


Just to quote this... there is no such file in my local games directory to change it to window mode

SysOpPsyche
10-14-2011, 10:47 PM
Based on the symptoms your describing and my experience, I think I may know whats causing your problem and no you won't be able to fix it using that mouse, the problem is due to the update speed of that mouse and the game input handler code w/Windows requirements for applications running. That mouse is a High Performance Gaming mouse and I don't believe this game has an option to 'Disable Hardware Mouse handling' which is how most programs handle it (using program code nicknamed 'Windows Pacifier' function and more colorful names).

Don't suppose you have a cheap standard mouse to swap it out with and see if the game still exhibits the same behaviour?

The problem is most likely that Windows interupts applications everytime mouse input is detected (the first 100 lines of any windows program incorporates this) and the program has to handle it within a certain time or Windows kills the application. Problems occur when the update is extremely high and the code tries to actually process the input immediately or logging in a queue because that code has to be very lean and efficient or have a very BIG queue, if it doesn't then its usually not done before it gets another input update and basically causes the program to stutter/stall and if input is constant Crash because Windows kills the process thinking its hanged due to its inability to respond to this Windows Call. Most 'Windows Pacifiers' are simple code functions that take the input and overwrite a simple data structure and respond to windows to let it know everythings OK and then transfer it to the Actual input handler when the process feels its time to update that. Basically its one of those Pain in the Butt Windows things and really only typically happens with High Performance input in Heavily burdened applications. Simple to fix but often overlooked. Anytime you see an option setting thats 'Hardware Mouse ...' something thats usually what that setting turns on and off - doesn't matter whether your using DirectInput, Xinput or Windows handlers since they all report to & have to satisfy Windows or it kills the application thinking an error has occurred.

Novakiller
10-15-2011, 01:09 AM
Interesting read and very technical. I was able to fix it by simply just swapping out a cheap old usb mouse, but i'd like to use my expensive mouse if i can with the game lol...

evansgreen
10-15-2011, 05:25 AM
SysOpPsyche, all your post makes a whole world of sense, cause as you underlined, the game DOES work properly with crappy mouses in my computer, but ONLY with crappy mouses with low poll rate.

I'm very grateful for your interest and comment, and for sharing your knowledge about the topic, cause that gave me an idea... I'm gonna try to lower the poll rate of my mouse manually via the own mouse software and I'll try the game that way, I'll let you know if I can play that way.

Thanks again, you've been more helpful so far than any "technical support" which stopped answering a week ago...

evansgreen
10-15-2011, 05:31 AM
BUG SOLVED THANKS TO SysOpPsyche

Solving process:

If you're having this bug, that means you're using a high performance mouse, which has at least a 500Hz polling rate (in my case was 1000, which is worse). Enter your mouse software, and look for the options to change the polling rate. In case is a razer, it will be "Tweak performance->polling rate" and lower it to 125 Hz.

You just turned your turbopro1337gamingmouse into a crappy one. BUT IT WORKS.

Again, I can stretch enough how grateful I am, and the rest of the people with the problem will be, now that we can actually play and enjoy the game. I can't help having a bit of a sour impression for the fact that it wasn't reverie studios the ones who gave a **** about it, but I'm very happy that it was solved in the end.

Thanks again, see you on the battlefield ;)

SysOpPsyche
10-15-2011, 07:24 AM
Good to hear it. Wasn't aware that some of the mouse could alter there 'polling rate'.

BTW the Developers are super busy patching, they are an Indie game company (meaning very small, low budget and typically understaffed/overworked). With the issues they are having this particular one wouldn't be a high priority since its more of a performance bug and compatibility issue thats affecting less users than their other issues are (figuring out whats causing a bug, is typically the hardest part).

They'll fix that soon enough they got bigger more severe problems. I know they read the forums a lot and this particular problem is as I said easy to fix and often overlooked.


Have fun.

Novakiller
10-15-2011, 11:40 AM
very interesting, i'll have to check that out as well, i dont think my Roccat has that option in its software but i'll still check anyway, NICE FIND!!! what kinda frame ratse are you getting now?