PDA

View Full Version : Level Design Issues - Town Balancing, Impassible Area, Wierd Looking Locations e.t.c


Danny Vink
09-28-2011, 09:54 PM
Report any level design issues including but limited to balance issues with a specific town related to the terrain. Any impassable areas that should be passable. Anything that just looks out of place like the wrong texture for somewhere on the ground.

Make sure to provide:

Provide the name of the town, which region you viewed to get there or whatever applies.
Please include a or several screenshots.
If applicable be specific as to why a certain area of terrain is imbalanced or be passable.

Valkyrie
10-02-2011, 11:28 AM
Humans
The Wold
name of city: Holmgard
Username: Valkyrie


http://img694.imageshack.us/img694/9992/sswestwallbugcloseuppai.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/694/sswestwallbugcloseuppai.jpg/)

As you can see on this first picture my oil thingys are not on the gatehouse, also the gatehouse is impassable to walk up on as well as the 2 towers nearby.

I can however use the gatehouse to walk in and out of my keep so no problems there.


http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/9426/sseastwallstrredelinacc.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/404/sseastwallstrredelinacc.jpg/)

The area within the red border is impassable


http://img713.imageshack.us/img713/3552/sseastwallgatehousepain.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/713/sseastwallgatehousepain.jpg/)


Both these problems are on the outer-wall, both problems came up when i upgraded my gatehouses i think, cus they worked at the start.

first SS are on the far East side of wall, the other 2 are from the far west side.

Xanderxavier
10-03-2011, 05:48 PM
Got a bit of an issue with one of my war lodges (and one of my hunter's lodeges to) in my Elven City in Bolfores'l , basically every time it builds a unit several of the units coming out walk straight through the outside wall whilst being created, if the gates arent closed those outside will immediately begin walking back round to the outergate to get back in and join the rest if it is closedthey remain stuck in the wall and you cant even see them without requesting the visible units to move to a location right next to them (which whilst wall closed only the ones outside do)

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-vSigyqBM7ks/Too5VKmU5ZI/AAAAAAAARk8/G4M8Yo0geAM/s800/dofbugwall1.jpg

Begets:

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-wjzpviA-484/Too5Y4BoQhI/AAAAAAAARlA/-cPOmGEwuqE/s800/dofbugwall2.jpg

this isnt the only issue also my Hunter's Lodge output's units into the rocks beside them, then they walk out of the rocks, but usually one or two get stuck in the rock and cant leave usually with their little heads sticking out on the left side of the rock where they get stuck, not got any to show you in pic below but it does show rocks and where quit clearly but definitely happens with Mounted Ranger's

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-_UOteO1TQ7Y/Too6-uAGD9I/AAAAAAAARlI/FmJl_PKQBA0/s800/dofbugrock1.jpg

raulicio
10-04-2011, 09:45 AM
Hi, i have experikenced a strange bug after the latest patch. I was in the middle of the construction of my second layer of walls, but after the patch the workers has just abandoned a construction and started a small layer of pallaside wall inside my stone walls. I would post a pic but not sure where to find the screenshots after the release.

Jean=A=Luc
10-04-2011, 10:12 AM
Small bridge bug in Taltos.

http://img847.imageshack.us/img847/7689/bridgetaltos.jpg

GPS51
10-04-2011, 05:56 PM
GV 1.0.3 After patch 1.0.3 My upgraded stone gateways are now rebuilding themselves each time I reload my HC ie after questing or relogging. It doesn't appear to be using stone and the fully upgraded one appears in place while the scaffolding buildings up around it.

raulicio
10-05-2011, 08:32 AM
Sry but it seems they continue building the pallisade walls isntead of the stone ones:(( (the new patch should have fixed this)

Screenshot was taken after the appling the very recent patch.

nuraiel
10-09-2011, 11:29 AM
I noticed that if you build Hoardings on stronger curved human walls, they often look very awkward and their supporting beams go into the air in front of the wall.

Cruzader
10-10-2011, 09:47 PM
Two problems with human homelands in The Wold:

1) The southeast outer gate of the wooden palisade -- it appears impossible to move units on top of the towers on either side of the gate. It's possible on the western gate so I assume this is a bug.

2) On the tower just to the west of the aforementioned gate, there is a ladder on both sides of the tower -- there should only be a ladder on the inside. Furthermore, if you assign a unit to the top of that tower, they will go outside the walls and use the outer ladder.

Safey18
10-11-2011, 12:36 AM
I can't go through my gates even when they are open. No units can get in or out of my city and my gatehouse is constantly building upgrades.

GPS51
10-11-2011, 04:02 PM
GV1.0.5b Homeland map for Men/The Wold. The screenshot shows an unpassable area of walls/towers for my units. When I built my palisade the 2 towers where the 2 stone towers are were also unmountable.

Arcoth
10-12-2011, 02:30 PM
Elves
Swamp (Erthee L'Bala)
Hometown

Treants don't seem to be able to get to the settlement, as they are to large.

EDIT: Now that the walls are finished, the problem has vanished.

Akitobdb
10-13-2011, 02:04 AM
"continue wall construction option greyed out" (no, im not out of res) and now im stuck with some portions of my walls being pallisade any option to restart/destroy/upgrade my walls?

White935
10-13-2011, 04:39 AM
"continue wall construction option greyed out" (no, im not out of res) and now im stuck with some portions of my walls being pallisade any option to restart/destroy/upgrade my walls?

If you playing as ORC, they have a combination of wooden wall and palisade walls. they wont have the entire settlement out of wooden walls, and whill have gaps filled with laters of palisade. (which is why orcs need to build both palisade and wooden walls in their towns)

Safey18
10-13-2011, 04:42 AM
I have found an impassable area on the world map. One of my armies in Southmont has some how got onto a mountain range which you usually have to walk around. The problem is I can't get it off now it can only move within the boundaries of the mountain range xD

GPS51
10-16-2011, 12:46 PM
GV 1.0.7 Sieging Makada. I was unable to manually target any gate gears(moving troops on top of them let them auto attack them). I was unable to select 90% of the towers to attack when using trebuchets. The torches from destroyed walls stay lit and in place after the wall has been destroyed. I can't walk over destroyed walls with my troops. The body piles are unable to be set on fire at Makada.

GV 1.0.7 Sieging Dagbor/Thorndale. Units get stuck on the destroyed outer gatehouses and are unable to move. This means that getting 1 out of a 20 unit battlion will automatically pull the entire unit to stand on the destroyed gatehouse ensuring death for your troops when you're not looking.

Cruzader
11-05-2011, 08:23 PM
Two problems with human homelands in The Wold:

1) The southeast outer gate of the wooden palisade -- it appears impossible to move units on top of the towers on either side of the gate. It's possible on the western gate so I assume this is a bug.

I just realized that the reason for this is that for The Wold castle, the entire wall segment on the other side of the river doesn't have any stairs -- thus for the entire segment, it is impossible to get troops up onto the wall. Will be a big problem for defense when town PvP goes live.

Neinth
12-21-2011, 07:57 AM
In region view,using the largest palisade camp,units get stuck inside/around the tents and buildings,and if you use those stuck units groups,you'll spend ahlf the time sending them back to where you wanted them,as they'll keep trying to regroup to the stuck ones.

Can do the same thing in the npc's little camps,they will get stuck inside there on the tents or the pikes and rest of unit will try and group near them if you leave em idle long enough.

Again in region veiw,theres some npc camps melee units cant get into,two that stick out is one to the east corner of map,its on a very steep hill,and one to the west of the map,its on flat alnd,but melee units cant get into it.They both appear to have entrances though,just cant get into em,but ranged units can just pick em all off safely,because the npcs cant get out either.

Ok weird looking locations,swamp city for elfes,i get these yellow lines radiating under the water,would like to say its something to do with the light source from day/night,as the lines move/flicker and are not always there.It's only on the water though,so possible turning water qaulity up will fix,will try that.

lastchancer
01-03-2012, 04:18 PM
Posted in the wrong area, i moved it to the right thread

DJplumo
01-08-2012, 09:41 AM
Palissade walls dont show when I clicked on siege defend of dragbor I think :eek:

Cid_Caceres
11-28-2012, 03:15 PM
Number one is the huga gap on the keep wall, I know is impassable and I know some huge boulders were added in the last patch, but it is still a gap that is weak to trebuchets and has no area to put archers with the defense bonuses of the towers.

Number two. The palisade that surrounds the city is glitched, the gates can be built but they dissapear of ther log out, also in the south east section of the palisades, there is a tower that has 2 ladders, one leading into the country side, acting like a permanently open gate.

http://i1284.photobucket.com/albums/a570/cacerescabrales/Screenshot5.png

Konstantin Fomenko
11-28-2012, 03:32 PM
Thanks for reporting this. The number 1 is a design decision - as every stronghold needs to have a weakness. And we`ll look to fix the two ladder tower and gatehouse issue in the next patch.

paranoic86
11-29-2012, 12:04 AM
Hey konstantin!, I really hope you listen to your player base and reconsider that design decision or change the weakness to something else because there's no way in hell someone would build a stronghold with such a huge gap on their walls, it really looks out of place, like the walls are unfinished, it doesn't make any sense. really its like the people from the stronghold were holding a sign saying "rape me from this side" anyway keep up the good work we have high hopes for this game!

Cid_Caceres
11-29-2012, 12:09 AM
Thanks for reporting this. The number 1 is a design decision - as every stronghold needs to have a weakness. And we`ll look to fix the two ladder tower and gatehouse issue in the next patch.
Thank you for the fast reply. I understand the balancing issue when it comes to give strongholds weaknesses and strenghts, but are you sure a huge gap in the wall is the way to go? the whole thing just looks unfinished, actually when I first saw it I thought it was a bug rather than a design choice, because from tactical point is not reasonable to leave a gap unless there is a something there that acts as a filler, perhaps moving the boulders up to the plateu of the hill?

From my experience with castles I would kindly suggest to use another weakness, one less disruptive, maybe making that part of the hill less steep.

thanks!