PDA

View Full Version : Conquest and expansion?


aVeron
07-16-2008, 07:19 PM
Salut all members of DOF-forum!

I Register on this forum yesterday and i must say Im really looking forward to this game!
The feature of this game looks so promising. I probobly got a milion question to ask about the game.. but one thing that keeps bugging me, which i dont have a clue about in this game is: how your supose to expand? Because from what i've read on this forum, is that your only allowed to build one city and i've also read that the limit of units will be around 1.000 units. Both things involves expansion..

Are you going to be able to take over cities that you conquer, or will you just be able to raise them from the ground? If your able to conquer then i think the unit limitation should be unlimited, whereas you gain more units when you expand.

Cheers, averon

nickson104
07-17-2008, 06:46 AM
Are you going to be able to take over cities that you conquer, or will you just be able to raise them from the ground? If your able to conquer then i think the unit limitation should be unlimited, whereas you gain more units when you expand.

Cheers, averon


If your units were unlimited that would cause some major problems for gaming later on in the game, imagine both teams having 10,000 troops attacking each other.... lag is what it would be.
The 1000 unit limit seems pretty much perfect, not too much but not too little either.
As to the conquering cities... I am not too sure, being new myself... However I gather so as i remember hearing that you could eventually have a city or town or whatever for every race. So I think you can... please orrect me if I am wrong

And yeah Welcome to the forums

aVeron
07-17-2008, 07:29 AM
Well maybe not unlimit the unit limit.. but the game has to develop in the feature and some empires has to grow.. bye unlimit i meant, if you conquer another player, you'll gain his stronghold. then some of his population, which should increase your ability to have more units, that sounds reasonable, and secondly.. i dont think players will send several thousand of soldiers to each others... they will probobly be spread out alot..

Late game some players will be superior power, and with only 1.000 men in total? that sounds very small to me.. Alternative would be to have a unit limit in a battle, 2.000 max, whereas it is possible to have now.. but your still able to build more units, around your empire..

Limited population is just a typical thing about all rts games.. yes.. its because of avoid lags and bad performance.. but this game is supose to be epic!
I would really dislike the fact that you have to start sacrifice your peasents just to gain more pop for soldiers, in late game.. :(

The Witch King of Angmar
07-17-2008, 10:25 AM
Welcome to the forums, and, yes, you can capture cities or destroy them. You can also build camps and outposts.

Puppeteer
07-17-2008, 10:32 AM
and with only 1.000 men in total? that sounds very small to me
Your ideas about parameters are far exceeding to that of mine.

aVeron
07-17-2008, 11:50 AM
Welcome to the forums, and, yes, you can capture cities or destroy them. You can also build camps and outposts.

Ok, that sounds great, thanks for the welcoming!

But no one has spoken of how the conquering will effect your unit limit? Will it still stay the same even thoe you've conquered 2 other cities? Or will you gain a higher unit limit after more cities you conquer?

E.x. 1.000 your main city, then you conquer another one 1.500. third city 2.000, and so on... Just an idea..

The Witch King of Angmar
07-17-2008, 12:48 PM
I think it will stay the same.

aVeron
07-17-2008, 01:29 PM
I hope not... then i think it should be more then 1.000 :(

Esculas the Mighty
07-18-2008, 06:46 PM
omg!? what about camps being able to build there own units but the pop. cap is separate form your city but it has a small limit like 250 or 300

this will help you to be able to keep your enemies in check instead or having to march your army all the way back to them to re-conquer them

aVeron
07-19-2008, 03:31 AM
Yes well, for me it doesnt really matter where you get more units, Just that i know that you will get more then 1.000 in a late game.. eventhought you dont need to have 1.000 in every battle, the battlefields unitlimit could be different.

Esculas the Mighty
07-19-2008, 02:31 PM
no ones gonna have that many units ( as military ) dont forget your villagers

Mrdash
07-19-2008, 04:34 PM
I agree w/ aVeron, There should be able to have more than 1,000.

But I know the problems that can cause. Thats why I like the idea of limiting the amount of troops that can go into battle.

So you have 3k troops.. you attack someone with 1k..and defend a fortress(or 2) with ur other 2k.

aVeron
07-19-2008, 05:12 PM
no ones gonna have that many units ( as military ) dont forget your villagers

Dont you think people will limit 1.000? when you've played this game for a long time? In the beginning of this game, 1.000 will be fine i guess.. whereas everyone isnt so strong. But later on in this game, after several months of playing.. you might have several fortresses..

Lets say you have 4 other fortresses/cities, and you divide those 4 into 1.000, thats 250 men.. for each fortress.. and you wont even have all your troops in your fortresses probobly, they might be out on a quest or somethin', + what you said, the workers.. you'll probobly have around 30-40 workers, probobly even more, which minimizes your amount of troops..

From what i've read you will get to have more then 4 fortresses/cities.. and if so how the **** are you going to defend those against your enemy forces, if you only have max 950men to divide them in?


So you have 3k troops.. you attack someone with 1k..and defend a fortress(or 2) with ur other 2k.

Yes, thats exacly what i mean! I rather prefer it that way..

raving
07-20-2008, 02:13 AM
Dont you think people will limit 1.000? when you've played this game for a long time? In the beginning of this game, 1.000 will be fine i guess.. whereas everyone isnt so strong. But later on in this game, after several months of playing.. you might have several fortresses..

Lets say you have 4 other fortresses/cities, and you divide those 4 into 1.000, thats 250 men.. for each fortress.. and you wont even have all your troops in your fortresses probobly, they might be out on a quest or somethin', + what you said, the workers.. you'll probobly have around 30-40 workers, probobly even more, which minimizes your amount of troops..

From what i've read you will get to have more then 4 fortresses/cities.. and if so how the **** are you going to defend those against your enemy forces, if you only have max 950men to divide them in?





Yes, thats exacly what i mean! I rather prefer it that way..


i think the maximum of castles you can have is 2.

aVeron
07-20-2008, 07:00 AM
i think the maximum of castles you can have is 2.

Okay, where did you get that information?

Found this in the FAQ thread:

Q. In the MMORTS mode, will players be restricted to only one territory or will they be allowed to own a conquered territory and have one additional castle on the world map?
A. Every player may have up to 4 cities of various races. At higher levels additional cities can be conquered.

So i think its more then just 2 castles/cities/fortresses..

Puppeteer
07-20-2008, 12:56 PM
I think it's 1000 in a battle, isn't it?

LordSlayer
07-21-2008, 08:35 PM
So i think its more then just 2castles/cities/fortresses..

I think that you'll probably have a cap on the number of cities you can own and some of your cities will be defended by different armies because they are from different races.

aVeron
07-22-2008, 02:34 AM
I think that you'll probably have a cap on the number of cities you can own and some of your cities will be defended by different armies because they are from different races.

Im talking about the MMO part now.

So your saying if im a human, and if i conquer a orcish fortress, i will be recruiting orcs in that fortress? Dont like the sound of that :confused:

wou129
07-22-2008, 03:58 AM
i think u wil raze it then

LordSlayer
07-22-2008, 06:08 AM
Im talking about the MMO part now.

So your saying if im a human, and if i conquer a orcish fortress, i will be recruiting orcs in that fortress? Dont like the sound of that :confused:

No, you'll destroy it and that player will restart with the army and base he had af few battles ago. You probably won't be able to use more than one race at a time in the MMO part of the game.

Btw, by ''some of your cities'', I meant the cities you own from the conquest that you did with the other starting strongholds you can have. These strongholds will probably have different pop limits.

The Witch King of Angmar
07-22-2008, 03:25 PM
Yeah outposts most likely with the least.

Neotyguy40
07-25-2008, 03:47 PM
I would love to have an outpost to keep an eye out on my enemies MUAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

ash12181987
07-25-2008, 04:44 PM
I wondered if there was going to be any kind of neutral buildings you could take over.

That would be more use in terms of an outpost IMO

The Witch King of Angmar
07-25-2008, 05:10 PM
I posted a topic about that a while back and I think there will be something like that.

Neotyguy40
07-31-2008, 08:27 PM
I hope you can make outposts... Kind of like small camps...

The Witch King of Angmar
07-31-2008, 08:43 PM
I know that you can.