PDA

View Full Version : Navies


Diggz
04-25-2008, 10:52 PM
Ive seen some screenshots of navy battles, and I was wondering how they are.

In Ancient Wars: Sparta you could ram, in AOEIII you could blow holes in ships with cannonry.. I hope these battles will match up, for they look like they will :)

LordSlayer
04-26-2008, 07:15 AM
Ive seen some screenshots of navy battles, and I was wondering how they are.

In Ancient Wars: Sparta you could ram, in AOEIII you could blow holes in ships with cannonry.. I hope these battles will match up, for they look like they will :)

Navy combats are going to be really diffrent in DoF, because you'll be able to put almost any units on your ships to fight against other ships or to board them. You'll also probably be able to capture ennemy ships after you kill their crew.

The Witch King of Angmar
04-26-2008, 09:19 AM
Plus you can also do a naval siege to a castle which brings me to another question, do you think you could have harbors/docks in your castle? Say there was a river running throught your that's big enough, you could put a sort of moat/entrance for the ships to enter and leave the castle. That'd be great for hostages.

Puppeteer
04-26-2008, 10:25 AM
Yes that would be cool, but I could see that having to become a heavily defended area of the castle.

The Witch King of Angmar
04-26-2008, 10:52 AM
That would a new aspect to it.

Puppeteer
04-26-2008, 11:30 AM
On one image I see a river going through it, but it's blocked off and no ships can get down there.

Jean=A=Luc
04-26-2008, 11:33 AM
Ive seen some screenshots of navy battles, and I was wondering how they are.

In Ancient Wars: Sparta you could ram, in AOEIII you could blow holes in ships with cannonry.. I hope these battles will match up, for they look like they will :)

Sea battle are going to be very similar to Rise & Fall and the AW:S you mentioned but without ramming unfortunately.

Diggz
04-26-2008, 12:25 PM
Plus you can also do a naval siege to a castle which brings me to another question, do you think you could have harbors/docks in your castle? Say there was a river running throught your that's big enough, you could put a sort of moat/entrance for the ships to enter and leave the castle. That'd be great for hostages.

Hmmz.. Cool.

Which brings me to a second question:
What are the ships like? The only screenshots ive seen are of men's one and i dont know of they have cannons or whatnot. :cool:

The Witch King of Angmar
04-26-2008, 12:35 PM
I don't know if they will have cannons but you can mount tribs on them maybe.

Diggz
04-26-2008, 02:52 PM
I don't know if they will have cannons but you can mount tribs on them maybe.

Whoa, whoa, whoa... That is SO COOL! That ship must be HUGE!!

The Witch King of Angmar
04-26-2008, 04:15 PM
They can carry alot. Basically the giant ones are just like a giant piece of wood that can float.

Diggz
04-26-2008, 05:58 PM
All wood floats.

Puppeteer
04-27-2008, 10:15 AM
Not with a bunch of people, cargo, perhaps even a siege weapon mounted onto it. WitchKing was generalising all that into one.

Diggz
04-27-2008, 12:09 PM
Yeah, sorry, i didn't mean to sound rude.