PDA

View Full Version : Terrain destruction!

Zary
01-23-2011, 12:41 PM
One thing i valorate a lot in a game is that, destruction. Not meaning gore or explosions, but permanently terrain holes because of a catapult and things like that. Aafter a battle, and while a week, (srry my english) you must see corpses and burned terrain and holes and things like that, i mean not for ever, but for a few days at least!

How do you see it? :rolleyes:

Froody42
01-23-2011, 12:51 PM
I don't think it's that important for a fantasy game like this where there isn't that much that could cause significant terrain destruction. Only catapult rocks could cause small craters, and that's about it.

It's different with games like Dawn of War, where there are artillery shells flying around constantly.

luizeba
01-23-2011, 01:49 PM
But a detail like this make the game more realistic :P

pkdavid
01-23-2011, 02:01 PM
I am not an expert but I think it must be very difficult to program, especially in an MMO, wait for an answer programmer.

Karl-Heinz
01-23-2011, 02:31 PM
Well, it is not essential and will not be missed in the game, but it would be awesome to have that level of detail. Initially they can not put up, but developers can add this in a future expansion/patch.

Narfi
01-23-2011, 03:03 PM
fantasy or not, some remains around the field after a big battle would add atmosphere to it.

Corpses, burned down siege equiqment etc.

darkviju
01-23-2011, 03:10 PM
It would be good to see how's everything after a battle, but I also think it's diffcult to program that (I think Crysis for example doesn't have craters).

Joseph Visscher
01-23-2011, 05:23 PM
I don't think it's that important for a fantasy game like this where there isn't that much that could cause significant terrain destruction. Only catapult rocks could cause small craters, and that's about it.

It's different with games like Dawn of War, where there are artillery shells flying around constantly.