PDA

View Full Version : More than 1 MMORTS


Negthareas
02-12-2010, 06:43 PM
I don't know if this was already decided or not, but can a player have more than one identity in the MMORTS? I would just hate to get stuck in one civilization and not be able to play as the others in the MMORTS.

Alex Walz
02-12-2010, 06:45 PM
Currently, we allow four slots.

sneaky_squirrel
02-12-2010, 08:30 PM
Currently, we allow four slots.

But how are we going to try out all of the 5 civilizations?...oh wait :D

Negthareas
02-13-2010, 12:28 PM
Okay, thanks!

Swift sword
02-13-2010, 12:55 PM
4 slots is perfect-1 for each race and a restart if you messed up on the first one. Cool :)

DarkMaster
02-13-2010, 07:58 PM
But you need 9 slots.:mad: One for each region of each race:p

Generation
02-13-2010, 10:08 PM
But you need 9 slots.:mad: One for each region of each race:p I don't think so buddy

zach12wqasxz
02-13-2010, 10:22 PM
I don't think so buddy

i think ur slots should be unlimited.

JDmino
02-14-2010, 02:51 AM
i think ur slots should be unlimited.

That is what I miss about AoM ESO(Before I lost my old cd code and had to buy the game again, :mad:.), infinite accounts.
Ahhh, the good old days.

wills370
02-14-2010, 04:11 AM
I think the ammoutn of slots is perfect. Any more and it may affect performance on the serves and with this constant mmorg play. Most people will only really use one slot. As there main one once they decide which race they prefer. So overall any more is just oepning people to open to many slots and be inactive on all.

welshie
02-14-2010, 09:56 AM
im pretty sure u can delete some of ur cities to make way for new ones? so if u messed up on ur first one no biggie!

Alex Walz
02-14-2010, 10:56 AM
Yeah, you can delete and start over a stronghold. Not sure why you'd want to have more than four active strongholds at once.

That is what I miss about AoM ESO(Before I lost my old cd code and had to buy the game again, :mad:.), infinite accounts.
Ahhh, the good old days.
This thread is asking about stronghold slots, not accounts. You can have four game slots to an account - not sure yet if we'll limit the number of accounts or installations you can have.

OrcSlayer
02-14-2010, 11:17 AM
This thread is asking about stronghold slots, not accounts. You can have four game slots to an account - not sure yet if we'll limit the number of accounts or installations you can have.

But won't that mean that if you have multiple harddrive wipes (over some time) you will eventually have to buy the game again?

Darathor
02-14-2010, 07:49 PM
But won't that mean that if you have multiple harddrive wipes (over some time) you will eventually have to buy the game again?

I think it has to be a different computer to count as an installation, though I'm probably wrong.

raving
02-15-2010, 01:24 AM
if u wipe ur os, and do a clean install. Its the same for the game as installing on a new pc. It cant see if it has been installed there. only way to prevent things like this tbh is to do something like steam.

metman
02-18-2010, 10:27 PM
Although unlimited slots would be kind of nice I don't see why anyone would need more than four. :D

Negthareas
02-20-2010, 11:09 AM
I completely agree - unless with the expansion came new races, among which the undead/vamps, dwarves, and possibly dragons are hoped for. For that reason, there would have to probably be 7 slots [one for each race
+ exta]

metman
02-20-2010, 11:17 AM
Good point. :)

zach12wqasxz
02-20-2010, 11:45 AM
will u be able to run 2 clients of the game at once? with different accounts but on the same computer?

Negthareas
02-20-2010, 11:57 AM
I am pretty sure you can only have 1 account per cp.

Aametherar
02-20-2010, 02:12 PM
Isn't it easiest for everyone to just make it CD key based? 1 CD key=1 account. If you lose your name/password you can use your cd key+email to recover it, or start over if you lose email and the accounts been inactive over a month. Then 4 in game castles/lords per account. I just don't see a reason to make it more complicated than that.

Negthareas
02-21-2010, 09:04 AM
I agree - 1 CD = 1 account.

But, if there are more playable civilizations in the expansion, a single account should be able to have 7 MMORTS players [1 for each civilization, + 1 extra].

Otherwise, players would have to delete let's say, their elvish city if they wanted to start a dwarven one.

GPS51
02-21-2010, 01:08 PM
I'd be in favor of some kind of split where say you could have 2 extra cities if you buy the xpack so that you have the option of creating new xpack cities

Alex Walz
02-21-2010, 01:17 PM
You won't have to plan ahead for an expansion. If we add races, I think it would be safe to say that we would add slots as well so you don't have to delete any.

metman
02-21-2010, 02:04 PM
If you have more than one MMORTS and they are in the same area will you be able to see your other one while it is offline. I hope this makes sense. :D

Negthareas
02-21-2010, 02:41 PM
Thank you for the clarification Alex.

GPS51
02-21-2010, 02:51 PM
Also will there be benefits to having your hero stationed in one town over another?

welshie
02-21-2010, 03:31 PM
Also will there be benefits to having your hero stationed in one town over another?

if u mean if u leave him there no. As far as im aware your hero in a town eaither fights (as a seige leader or defender) or he can use his diplomatic skills to trade items and resources, buy soilders from mercinary camps and collect quests (this might lead to benifits tho) hope i answered your question but im not 100% on this

blaktea
02-22-2010, 05:39 PM
I think there should be four MMORTS. One for each race plus one extra.

Negthareas
02-23-2010, 06:42 PM
That is what we came up with - except expanded if there are extra races in expansion.