PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7 Compatible?


zach12wqasxz
12-08-2009, 07:15 PM
i know it probably will be, but i just wanna make sure, and also will the game run better on XP or 7? as i haven't used 7 yet and was considering of upgrading from a vista. if not then ill just downgrade to an XP. i want my computer to run the game as smooth as possible

Darvin
12-08-2009, 11:45 PM
Don't worry about this. I'm certain that it will support all three of XP, Vista, and 7. As for which one will perform better, that's a tough one to call. It's well known that Vista is a bit of a hog on your RAM, but otherwise most benchmarks I've seen have put all three pretty close.

raving
12-09-2009, 12:20 PM
well windows 7 should take less of ur ram, but if its bugfree thats another question lolz ^^.

LiTos456
12-09-2009, 01:40 PM
Yeah I've asked about this. It works with Windows 7.

Unen
12-22-2009, 02:28 PM
i know it probably will be, but i just wanna make sure, and also will the game run better on XP or 7? as i haven't used 7 yet and was considering of upgrading from a vista. if not then ill just downgrade to an XP. i want my computer to run the game as smooth as possible

Id honestly just upgrade to windows 7. I'm currently running it and I'm in love with it, Ive only had issues installing one or two games (sacred 2 is the only one I can think of) but I've also ran into a lot less minor bugs/errors than when I used XP. If you're still Iffy then you can wait till beta starts and the remove any NDAs (assuming that there is one) that they have and ill post about how its running on 7 (I got into first stage of beta).

Henry Martin
12-22-2009, 03:59 PM
Don't worry about this. I'm certain that it will support all three of XP, Vista, and 7. As for which one will perform better, that's a tough one to call. It's well known that Vista is a bit of a hog on your RAM, but otherwise most benchmarks I've seen have put all three pretty close.

The reason it seems that windows vista is using a lot of RAM is that is keeps running programs through it. By doing this when you load up an app it loads up right away instead of like XP which empties the RAM so when when you open something there is a delay(sometimes it takes long) to find the app and load it up. windows vista RAM usage is more efficient than XP.

You can look it up if you want to. I here "SO" many people talking about this and I just wanted people to know what is actually going on.

Dylan Bales
12-22-2009, 04:22 PM
I personally think the game works better on Windows 7 than on Windows XP or windows Vista, but I think Joseph or someone else higher than me would be better to ask about this.

Darvin
12-22-2009, 05:48 PM
What you want to look at are benchmarks. The ones I've seen have put all three Windows in the same range. Aside from OpenGL support (one of the only places that XP definitively outperforms both Vista and 7) they're virtually indistinguishable. Most of the ones I read put 7 ahead of its predecessors overall (that's to be expected) but not by any considerable margin.

Bottom line is that your hardware is going to mean a hundred times more than your operating system towards what performance you will get out of the game.

Henry Martin
12-22-2009, 06:12 PM
What you want to look at are benchmarks. The ones I've seen have put all three Windows in the same range. Aside from OpenGL support (one of the only places that XP definitively outperforms both Vista and 7) they're virtually indistinguishable. Most of the ones I read put 7 ahead of its predecessors overall (that's to be expected) but not by any considerable margin.

Bottom line is that your hardware is going to mean a hundred times more than your operating system towards what performance you will get out of the game.

Yes I know that. I am upgrading my laptop to windows 7. I was just pointing out something that a lot of people don't know about and bash (not that you were). I found XP worse the vista. I also know that benchmarks don't me anything if you can't run the program either.

zach12wqasxz
12-22-2009, 06:31 PM
wow guys thanks for all the information.
i think im gonna upgrade to windows 7

Henry Martin
12-22-2009, 10:00 PM
wow guys thanks for all the information.
i think im gonna upgrade to windows 7

Yeah you should. Darvin is right about what he is saying. I have a dual boot with my laptop (Xp and windows 7). I am going to have windows 7 only when I get on break from school. Overall you normally will get the same performance out of programs no matter what OS you use, but I find that you will have more crashing in XP then with vista or 7. Even thought most game don't say anything about supporting windows 7 they will work. I know DOF will work on windows 7. I am running Impressions Games Zeus master of Olympus which came out in 2000. Programs don't mention every single OS/future OS or hardware they support. I am running a quadro 570m and none of the games I run say that I can us my quadro, but they do.

Just be cautious, read reviews (user) and forums if you are not sure.