PDA

View Full Version : Units look Suggestion


PirateofCheem
10-20-2009, 05:28 AM
From what I have seen so far, units of the same unit type look exactly the same from one another, so I reckon you should make it so units of the same unit type can look different from eachother, like different helmets, shields and so on. This would make the game a bit cooler I reckon, but not nessessary, because sooner or later people will maybe stop noticing it, but it would be easier to do.

Darathor
10-20-2009, 07:55 AM
You can upgrade units and that makes them look different due to new armor. However, if you upgrade everyone, then you have the same problem you started out with.

Josh Warner
10-20-2009, 08:34 AM
You can upgrade units and that makes them look different due to new armor. However, if you upgrade everyone, then you have the same problem you started out with.

Units are upgraded by type, if you purchase an upgrade for Swordsmen then they all get it.

Kire
10-20-2009, 03:39 PM
Units are upgraded by type, if you purchase an upgrade for Swordsmen then they all get it.

you are screwed =P.

Beside in all RTS lately games if have battalions they differ little from each other at least ... so i guess they will also do that here till release.

Joseph Visscher
10-20-2009, 04:49 PM
If we can bring the visual memory usage down a bit more we might be able to create some alternating units, but for now we have decided to wait on this feature; it is nice to have, but it is inefficient when you have 1000 all unique units on screen with their own textures and playing at a total of 5 frames per second because your video card mbs is maxed out :p. Still this is something we've been looking at for a very long time.

Darathor
10-20-2009, 06:17 PM
Units are upgraded by type, if you purchase an upgrade for Swordsmen then they all get it.

So it's not battalion-based, it just upgrades everyone?

I guess I was thinking too much along the lines of upgrades in bfme2.

Josh Warner
10-20-2009, 06:58 PM
So it's not battalion-based, it just upgrades everyone?

I guess I was thinking too much along the lines of upgrades in bfme2.

That's correct, you research a type of technology, then if that technology has a visual update it is applied to all your units. There's a thread in the media section somewhere that showcases it. I'm too tired to find it right now.. but it is there lol.

Kire
10-21-2009, 07:11 AM
That's correct, you research a type of technology, then if that technology has a visual update it is applied to all your units. There's a thread in the media section somewhere that showcases it. I'm too tired to find it right now.. but it is there lol.


I find this kind of upgrade better than that of bfme2, its cheaper after all and you dont have to bother to upgrade each time you make new units.

Josh Warner
10-21-2009, 08:14 AM
I find this kind of upgrade better than that of bfme2, its cheaper after all and you dont have to bother to upgrade each time you make new units.

I certainly wouldn't want to have to manually upgrade each unit in my several thousand strong army :p

Blackfall234
10-28-2009, 08:45 AM
For me its good enough to have an upgrade that brings some visusal boost etc.

Like in Rise & Fall you can upgrade your Archers so that they are better in fight and better at Style. Not like in most Games , where Units after 20 Upgrades just look like they are farmers or something.

Blatant7
10-28-2009, 02:38 PM
What if you purchase an upgrade for, say, soldiers. Would soldiers produced after you purchased the upgrade be upgraded automatically?

nickson104
10-28-2009, 02:59 PM
What if you purchase an upgrade for, say, soldiers. Would soldiers produced after you purchased the upgrade be upgraded automatically?

That is generally what happens... and what he said... it will apply for all existing and future units... therefore ALL units :p

wills370
10-29-2009, 06:45 AM
That is generally what happens... and what he said... it will apply for all existing and future units... therefore ALL units :p

i would assume thats how it would work. would also be nice if the units became slightly diffrent with each upgrade. Possibly abetter helmet etc. :) make your more seasoned troops identifiable from your others.

Darathor
10-29-2009, 04:12 PM
i would assume thats how it would work. would also be nice if the units became slightly diffrent with each upgrade. Possibly abetter helmet etc. :) make your more seasoned troops identifiable from your others.

Units do looks different with armor upgrades, there is a picture of an orc somewhere demonstrating this, but all units get that upgrade, so all the troops would look alike again, though different from what they used to.

wills370
10-30-2009, 05:58 AM
Units do looks different with armor upgrades, there is a picture of an orc somewhere demonstrating this, but all units get that upgrade, so all the troops would look alike again, though different from what they used to.

I was thinking that it would work both with upgrades (armour etc wise). But also the more seasoned a unit is.

Supreme
10-30-2009, 08:55 AM
Even though that is a good addition thats not really gamebreaking for..anyone..its just a nice addition. What im saying is that they shouldnt want to do all that (every single upgrade = graphic change) right at the start. (Though I agree it should be put in sooner or later)

wills370
10-30-2009, 07:10 PM
Even though that is a good addition thats not really gamebreaking for..anyone..its just a nice addition. What im saying is that they shouldnt want to do all that (every single upgrade = graphic change) right at the start. (Though I agree it should be put in sooner or later)

Wouldent need to be for every upgrade etc (although that would be nice). But maybe key levels within the units lifespan. e.g. when they become 'elite' etc, make it easier to navigate your troops also.

Henry Martin
10-30-2009, 08:09 PM
I still think it would be nice to have a unit variety like on Medieval 2 total war. Each unit class has 2-3 different textures and armor, not just when upgrade, instead of every unit class to look exactly alike.

Darathor
10-31-2009, 09:25 AM
I still think it would be nice to have a unit variety like on Medieval 2 total war. Each unit class has 2-3 different textures and armor, not just when upgrade, instead of every unit class to look exactly alike.

While they might do this eventually, it would make the game take more resources to play and they want as many people as possible to play the game. Plus it would take a while to make.

Henry Martin
10-31-2009, 12:20 PM
While they might do this eventually, it would make the game take more resources to play and they want as many people as possible to play the game. Plus it would take a while to make.

Yeah I know thats why they might not add it, but hey this is a modable game so maybe I might add this myself.

PirateofCheem
11-03-2009, 02:47 AM
I reckon it would be easy to do without making the game run slower.
For example, I created a game in warcraft, where when units spawned (the model had no weapon) the triggers randomly generated a weapon for the unit. Since the unit did not have a weapon in the first place, not extra memory was consumed or whatever than if it started off with a weapon. I reckon you could easily implement this.