PDA

View Full Version : Playing from multiple computers...

Konstantin Fomenko
09-21-2009, 03:02 PM
This week`s poll is something we have to workout with our network programmer asap.

It looks like we can save two months of additional network programming, as well as improve security, if we only allow players to login into the MMORTS world from only one computer. There will be system to manually transfer files from one computer to another in order to play - but a bit messy, and you`ll have do this every time you are switching computers.

How would this impact you? Do you usually play MMORTS from several computers (home, school, work)? Do you think it`s worth additional two months of delay?

LiTos456
09-21-2009, 03:51 PM
Yeah do it. It'll be a huge screw up for some people if it's not there.

The Witch King of Angmar
09-21-2009, 03:54 PM
Sorry if I'm being a noob here, but you mean if we play the game from 2 seperate computers that we own (ex: regular computer and laptop)?

Thanks

Jean=A=Luc
09-21-2009, 03:55 PM
Not worth it.

Konstantin Fomenko
09-21-2009, 04:07 PM
but you mean if we play the game from 2 separate computers that we own (ex: regular computer and laptop)?
Yeah, exactly.

Josh Warner
09-21-2009, 05:12 PM
Two questions:
1: Is this something you could work on after release and add it in later on if the game is successful enough to warrant taking the time.
2: Not much of a question but it SHOULD be possible to create a simple app that takes all the required files and copies them, then you could just paste them into an email and send it to yourself or copy those files onto a thumbdrive and take that with you, then you have a second function for the app the pastes them in the right spot, and you could just configure it for whatever directory the game is installed at, or have it be used from inside the installation folder itself.